Poets logo

Pet Sin

The Monster under my bed

By Natasha CollazoPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
25

sometimes it is warm.

the comfort of your presence,

but still, a sinister company.

breathing down my spine at night.

shivers in my bed.

whispering in my head while i sleep.

i used to feed you,

until, i stopped.

unsure of whose pet is who?

you fed me and i fed you.

now, i starve you

and slowly,

you don’t come around anymore.

*

*

every now and then,

i’ll hear your chitterings from under the bed,

“here, kitty kitty”

But i ignore your tease instead.

*

****************************************

My entry to RM Stocktons unofficial February challenge “monsters under my bed”

My entry was inspired by a sermon I heard on starving your addictions.

Thank you for reading! If you’d like to play along you can visit the link below.

https://vocal.media/writers/february-write-club-prompt-unofficial-challenge

inspirationalsurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessMental Health
25

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU **

Project: The diary of an emo Latina

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Very well said, I have this relationship with food, chocolate and ice cream. Need to starve them. oh dear.

  • Exceptional work, you are quite The talented writer.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Brilliant & well-written!!

  • I have a very addictive personality so I get addicted to stuff very easily, even things like food or games or even a person. So I always try my best to stay away from stuff. Your poem was so powerful!

  • I love this, Natasha. My wife frequently refers to our pet sins--the ones we just think are cute while others are unforgivable deal-breakers. The cuter & more acceptable they seem to us the more we tend to feed them & respond to their teasings.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Well done!! And food for thought, too!

  • Ali SP4 months ago

    I love the comparisons you made in your poem. Often times we know that certain addictions can harm us but for most it is a form a comfort. Great poem!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    “unsure of whose pet is who?” Perfect example of an addiction.

  • I love how this was inspired by a sermon on starving your addictions. That is such a great message. Your poem is brilliant. I love how this monster is a comforting yet sinister presence. That is so true of the many monsters we have in our lives. I love these lines: "unsure of whose pet is who? | you fed me and i fed you." Wow! You have written a gem of a poem here, Natasha, and so quickly! I am stunned!

  • Excellent poem! In a similar vein… I recall decades ago a comedian Mike Warnkey said something like ‘If you do the things you should do, you won’t have time to do the things you shouldn’t!’

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I need to do this to sugar. But I don't have any under my bed.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Such pristine writing here. Love how clear and crisp it is, Natasha and it's something I know a lot about personally, so found it extra relatable! Great entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.