Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Devil is in the Details

For Mackenzie Davis' Interesting "I'd Read Your Grocery List" Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
15
The Devil is in the Details
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Wednesday 1st February, 2017

Happy Anniversary, Wife Card (Will write message when buy card, not online)

2 x Champagne (Magnum)

5 x Lemonade (2L bottles)

10 x Champagne flutes

Diamond necklace, earrings and ring (matching, with saphhires)

*

Monday 13th March, 2017

10 x Thank You cards (for team, Thank You for your hard work. I will take who I can with me when I am promoted - idea for cards?)

10 x £50 Amazon gift cards

*

Saturday 13rd May, 2017

Bread

Milk

Donuts x 4

Shiraz (70cl bottle)

Cheesy garlic bread

Large 16" pizzas x 2

*

Monday 22nd May, 2017

New smartphone

Hugo Boss cologne

Tailored suit

Leather brogues

Haircut and shave at barber shop

*

Tuesday 23rd May, 2017

Hotel room for 2

Handcuffs (furry?) (metallic?) (furry?)

Condoms (Pack of 6) (Pack of 12)

Water-based lube

Tequila (70cl Bottle)

Lemons

Salt

Orange juice

*

Wednesday 24th May, 2017

Red Roses x 12

Box of Lindt chocolates

Paracetamol

Car Valet Service (Inside and outside)

*

Saturday 27th May, 2017

Clingfilm x 2 rolls

Clothes pegs (set of 20, wooden preferably)

Disposable, waterproof bedsheet covers

Strongest air freshner can find

Tequila (70cl Bottle)

Fresh Mint

Chicken breasts x 2

Stir Fry Vegetables Mix

Soy Sauce

Easy-cook rice

White Wine (Any kind, as long as sweet, 70cl Bottle)

*

Sunday 28th May, 2017

Stain remover

Single Lily of the Valley, in vase

Gucci fragrance

Large black refuse sacks

Carpet cleaner

Bleach/disinfectant

*

Tuesday 30th May, 2017

Birthday cake for wife, Sandy

Prosecco (70cl Bottle)

Happy Birthday card (with message, Happy Birthday, Sandy, love you so much. Sorry, work has me working overtime, please try your best to enjoy your day. Hope the Prosecco and cake make up for my abscence)

Latte x 2

Strawberries

Squirty cream

Blindfold

*

Friday 2nd June, 2017

Hotel room for 2 (Book in her name)

Hired car (Book in her name)

Pregnancy test

Handcuffs

Bullets

Sharp Knife (from hardware store)

Disposable gloves

Bourbon

Croissants x 2 (almond and hazelnut)

Heavy-duty industrial-standard overalls

Leather boots

Protective goggles

Industrial-grade face mask

Chloroform

Microfibre clothes

Donut x 1

Apple (for vitamin C)

*

Saturday 3th June, 2017

Car Valet Service

Cute LBD for wife Sandy

Flights to Paris x 2

24 ct. Gold Eternity Ring

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is for Mackenzie Davis' "I'd Read Your Grocery List" Challenge which you can find out more about here:

I realise it's not solely grocery lists, but I went with a more broader shopping list type thing. Hope that's okay, Mackenzie?

Anyway...yeah. That's all I'm going to say about this. It was a lot of fun...fun? Is that the right word...considering what I produced? I'll let you decide.

As always, appreciate and love the engagement, interaction and the fact that anyone bothers to read my stuff!

If you're interested, here are a few of my most recently published things:

You can also check out the rest of my stuff here.

listsad poetryheartbreakFilthyexcerptsCONTENT WARNING
15

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Ok…this was so well done pal! I was totally immersed in this psychotic story. Brilliantly told- to the point where I had an entire episode playing in my head throughout. Love the little funnies you put in here- apple for vitamin C 😂 like, totally gotta keep myself well while cheating and murdering. You slayed with this one…see what I did there?? 👏🏽 👏🏽 👏🏽

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    Brilliant storytelling! Congratulations! 🥳

  • E.K. Daniels6 months ago

    This was unexpectedly dark. Like a psychological thriller in list form. Very Dexter. Well done!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    How did I miss this? Grizzly!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Oh my. That was great. What a story you told. Well done.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Omg lol!! Very Hitchcockian!!! 😁 And very unique. Don’t know how you managed this but you did!!

  • "Dexter" meets "American Gigolo/Psycho". Well done.

  • Zara Blume7 months ago

    This is such a chilling story told through a grocery list… just when I thought I hated listicles! Haha. I went through a gamut of emotions reading this. First I thought he was so sweet, if a bit overworked, making sure he doesn’t neglect the anniversary. Then it became clear this rich, pompous asshole was cheating… and that his own seed was gonna bloom, revealing his secret. So he committed double murder. I’m livid that he can go on with his life, his wife never knowing what a monster he is. But a lot of wealthy people can throw money at their problems, and just flee the country they’ve created chaos in, enjoying themselves until things “die” down. Well played.

  • That cheating piece of shit! Sorry I don't tolerate cheating. But the killing after that cheered me up! Hehehe loved your grocery list poem! 🍩🥐

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    Oooh twisty. This was so cleverly written. You so masterfully turned it from romance to unnerving horror. Very well done Paul.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    WOW. You nailed it! I'm getting "The Fall" vibes from this (though I can only speak for the first few episodes, as I felt ill after a time, watching it...lol). SPOILERS (maybe?) Is he a serial cheater/killer? Either that, or he's been cheating for a bit and decided to kill the girlfriend. I love how nuanced the lists are, and especially, I love how the dates are vital for understanding the plot! I've read it like 4 times. Just great. I feel like donuts are his "thinking" snack, as he premeditates the next part, lol. Also, great job establishing that anniversary party, where I assume, he met the girlfriend/victim. And establishing his wealth via the amazon gift cards, all the booze, the jewelry, new smartphone, cologne, etc. He's clearly a sociopath pre-crime, but defo a psycho afterwards. "American Psycho" vibes are there as well. Clever, adding in the notes throughout, like "book in her name." Exactly the kind of thing I'd expect to read on a list, plus, it adds to his premeditation. The pregnancy test, love that detail. Was the idea that he'd frame it as a suicide, her distress over maybe being pregnant (but then why not use a gun [too loud])? I feel like the speaker's attempt to frame somebody COULD be hidden in the details; perhaps I'm missing it, but I'd love to know ;) Also, using his wife as an escape plan, that's great! He'll be out of the country before the cops find the body, eh? Amazing entry, Paul. This is gonna be tough, naming a winner! :D

  • Brin J.7 months ago

    Did-Was this a list planning for a murder? You're a pro at twisting romance into horror!🤣 This was a great shopping list! Not gunna lie. Burn those receipts😌

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    🙂🎃💚Great twist

  • Matthew Fromm7 months ago

    ooo quite the twist here, great work my friend.

  • Test7 months ago

    This tickled me! Brilliant...My favourite line,'Apple (for vitamin C)' Gotta take care of the health in stituations like this! I can really imagine this being the list of the dude from, 'You'!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.