Poets logo

The Deepest Part of Winter!

(For my Step-Dad Roger Ricard R.I.P.) Until we meet again! Ode to the things we both love and have in common, for that IS EVERYTHING through me here in the living world still, which keeps us anchored to each other no matter where you may not be in physical reality! Alive always and Forever! Amen!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1
  The Deepest Part of Winter!
Photo by Andrey Bond on Unsplash

The Deepest Part of Winter!

Snow piles as high as houses

roads so thick,

With snow driven thru by vehicles brown and gray

Caked in between tires like deep delicious icing,

Sprinkled with beds of salt

while layers like thick warm winter blankets

Lay over the cars,

As they pass through

Your view,

With wind fulls

Of the fluffiest and lightest of stuff,

Flying gracefully

Like acrobats,

Through the air

To some unknown distance

And final resting place,

In the deepest part of Winnipeg winters!

There you will always be with me,

In my heart, soul and memories

Standing in your snow suit

Buck naked underneath!

With the largest smile

On the coldest, deepest days

Of winter,

Right there on your face

Like summer time or

Sun shining blue sky days,

Volunteering at the community centers

In the neighborhoods,

Holding large hoses

Flowing with the coldest rush of liquids

For that time of year,

As it pours out onto the ice rink floor

Making a charmed bed of it,

Adding on to the strength and the beauty

Of what's already there!

Every time I hear the sounds of laughter

And skates on rinks,

Or the slap stick noises

of hockey pucks being hit,

And the tinging against the net

When the shot is missed,

Like a sound of music

To those loving their game,

Or every time I hear the cheers and hollars`

Of another point being scored,

Or the sound of a figure skater jump.

I will always think of you

It will be your face I see

All around,

And your heart and soul will live on and on

And on, Strong,

Year after year

With me

Within me,

In every word I write,

That plays a part in my glory

As I pen these words of love and passion,

Page after page

In the deepest part of winter,

Where I shelter myself

Somewhere warm

Inside,

Holding the pen

The element

That gives me the gift

To share my thoughts and feelings,

About our oneness

Of Capricorn

And January`s,

Together

In the deepest part

Of Winter!

Not a days gone by

Not a yr that`s passed,

Not a yr that I`ve ever had Kraft peanut butter

In my cupboards, on my shelves

Have I not remembered to eat it

And think of us,

And leave my sticky reminder of

Our equal fervor

For the love of the nut and the squirrel

On top of the only other favored brand,

We share!

And how there is no better time of year

To eat peanut butter on bread or toast,

In a way that tells the tale

That for us,

It will never go out of style

Then to enjoy and savor every bite,

On the coldest and darkest days

Of the deepest part

Of (Winnipeg) Winters!

Where the warmth

Of its melting morsals,

Feed us

Our soul food.

Making us lovers

And fans of the snow,

And God's everlasting touch

Of all seasons,

That pass by

You and I,

To always bring us

Back to you

Standing out front of your red and white house,

On the outside of the gate

In your thick army green snow pants

As I say my few joyous words,

Of watching you

In your glory,

Appreciating

Your love,

And point of view over the simple things

In Winnipeg and how for us it will remain

The same always,

Wherever we both are

In the deepest part of Winters

And those times spent together,

Only in Winnipeg

Where it will stay…

Those times between us

And how it shall remain the same

(always)

Wherever we both happen to be,

Just you and me Roger

In the deepest part

Of Winters!

And the memory of both our birthdays

1 day a part,

Love, unconditionally

From the heart

Mind and soul,

Onward…

To a future life

And world ahead

Unknown,

And the day

We see each other again

Standing outside in our snow gear,

With nothing else on inside them

But our birthday suits and smiles,

With God looking down upon us both

In love and laughter

Over that shared passion and joy,

For Kraft Peanut Butter

And those deepest

Darkest,

Coldest days

With wind fulls

Of the fluffiest and lightest of stuff,

Flying gracefully

Like acrobats,

Through the air

To some unknown distance

And final resting place,

On

The Deepest, Darkest, coldest

Days of

Winters

in

Winnipeg!

Written by,

Jennifer Cooley!

* * * * *

Thank You for reading!

If you liked this work, you are welcome to find your way to my page

where you can leave a tip. pledge or subscribe! I would love to hear people`s impressions, visions and emotions in regards to reading my work.

And I welcome more ideas, suggestions and encouragement for continued work that could be enjoyed here by readers and challenge me in the way of continuing to write new things!

Here are more places to follow my career and read or watch, look at pictures or just learn more to any questions you may have! :-)

www.futureproductionsonline.com

www.facebook.com/isuperwoman

https://vocal.media/authors/jennifer-cooley-48hfjk0yqk

www.youtube.com/iamjustjen

https://www.starnow.com/u/jennifercooley1/

https://www.stage32.com/profile/822213/about

https://www.instagram.com/jennifer_cooley1/

https://www.instagram.com/thesmallvillemovie/

https://www.instagram.com/ladyjennifernor/

Twitter: @Smallvillemovie & @JenniferCooley1

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear JC - What a lovely piece - I simply can't do the cold ~ I'm shivering just reading this ~ As a native Southern Californian, in one day, we can mountain hike - Go to the Beach or even Snow Ski - that I can't even imagine doing! *Ooh ~ Luv Peanut 'butta ~ Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Authors Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.