Poets logo

What does the DTES Community mean to you?

This is the 2nd annual Vancouver Writers Festival! I held my workshop for learning to write on a deadline and within a work count for zines and other self-publishing opportunities. And of course I had to also enjoy the event myself! So I went to multiple other workshops and open mic events. And I wrote this piece at the Spontaneous Poetry table where people give out prompts and the writers use those to create something. And one person gave us the prompt of Community care! Every writer there wrote something really good from that prompt! I`m looking forward to adding more work from the festival soon! TY!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
What does the DTES Community mean to you?
Photo by John Cameron on Unsplash

May 24th, 2023!

Spontaneous Poetry Table at the 2nd Annual Vancouver Writers Festival!

This is what I wrote!

What does the DTES Community mean to you?

It`s left,

It's right,

It's anything but straight,

You will never be bored

In the DTES you will always find

Lots of opportunity,

Don`t judge a book by it's cover,

This neighborhood is

More than what you see!

If you need a place to express your pain,

Frustration and angst,

This is the place to be.

But if you are only down here

To cause us problems,

Say things that discriminates

Against our suffering,

Then Please…

Just pass on by

And leave us be,

In our World

In the DTES,

Community…

And the love here

That's built by all

Who are,

A Part of it!

Written by,

Jennifer Cooley!

* * * *

Thank You for reading!

If you liked this work, you are welcome to find your way to my page

where you can leave a tip. pledge or subscribe! I would love to hear people`s impressions, visions and emotions in regards to reading my work.

And I welcome more ideas, suggestions and encouragement for continued work that could be enjoyed here by readers and challenge me in the way of continuing to write new things!

Here are more places to follow my career and read or watch, look at pictures or just learn more to any questions you may have! :-)

www.futureproductionsonline.com

www.facebook.com/isuperwoman

https://vocal.media/authors/jennifer-cooley-48hfjk0yqk

www.youtube.com/iamjustjen

https://www.starnow.com/u/jennifercooley1/

https://www.stage32.com/profile/822213/about

https://www.instagram.com/jennifer_cooley1/

https://www.instagram.com/thesmallvillemovie/

https://www.instagram.com/ladyjennifernor/

Twitter: @Smallvillemovie & @JenniferCooley1

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.