Poets logo

The Clown

A little poem in the spirit of Halloween.

By Jeremy L. Hamilton Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Clown
Photo by Eugene Lagunov on Unsplash

The clowns face

was blue and white

red and green

and awfully bright.

Behind his mask

he wore a smile

cracked and frayed

it stayed awhile.

He followed me

both day and night

his hold on me

I could not fight.

And where I am

so he is too

and watching me

as I watch you.

And there I stand

beside the bed

I see him there

with hands stained red.

He leaned in close

as if to whisper

to tell me something

so I’d remember.

The clown I saw there

in the mirror

it’s me that looked back

filled with terror.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy L. Hamilton

Aspiring Writer, Photographer, and Artist.

When I was little I wanted to be a Writer.

Now I’m big so I’ll give it a solid effort.

Thanks Vocal+ for providing

a Wonderful platform to make it a Reality.

Let’s Write!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.