Poets logo

Discarded.

There is always light in the darkness, you just have to find it.

By Jeremy L. Hamilton Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo by Jeremy L. Hamilton

While sitting bare

upon the chair

my body is

but I’m not there

thinking on the

things that haunt me

as they dance around

and taunt me

family is an evil man

devising to

a wicked plan

to shape and shift

and turn about

this little boy’s

insides out

bones then dry

as stone.

* * *

Now outside in

from boy to man

and walking the spaces

behind all the buildings

the quiet and shadowed

alleyways between them

away from the crowds and

managed image of order.

I am there in only

a line of light

as they walk in

a space full of it.

Among the dumpsters

and delivery doors

I find beauty in the

ugly parts they don’t

want you to see

I see beauty in

the darkest parts of me

back here I am

the light in the dark

that shines on the

things unwanted

the pristine front

not possible without

the tattered backside

of it.

Away from the wicked

and back where I started

home where I belong

among the discarded

bones now wet

with life.

* * *

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Jeremy L. Hamilton

Aspiring Writer, Photographer, and Artist.

When I was little I wanted to be a Writer.

Now I’m big so I’ll give it a solid effort.

Thanks Vocal+ for providing

a Wonderful platform to make it a Reality.

Let’s Write!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.