Poets logo

The Cathedral

For the love of books.

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
61
The Cathedral
Photo by Will van Wingerden on Unsplash

Cathedrals arise, lives ever stored.

Mazes of tomes on the shelves

Binders of time, stories unfold,

feathered leaf’s, the universe records.

*

My heart is thirsty for love unbound.

Reading from dawn to dusk.

She exists, I know, somewhere in time.

I’m content, alone, until she is found.

*

On the fifth row back, three shelves high

A woman’s voice, unseen, has cried.

A leather-bound book, marked ten decades old.

Whispered my name; I had to comply.

*

The silken smooth cover touched my hands.

With heart aflutter, breathing stuttered,

Had my eternal quest found the one?

Or forevermore, love be damned.

*

Turning the pages, I slipped to the floor.

Her timbre, deep in my memory,

Threaded through words, her heavenly voice.

I know, I know, know who you are.

*

Mystical invites from the book, I assuage.

Strands and clamorings of true love.

Her inner voice foraged my heart.

I ignored the world, our souls engaged.

*

We dined, danced free, and strolled about town,

Her papyrus scent filled my mind.

We laughed, kissed free, converged ever close.

I bestowed to my queen a crown.

*

Priestly watchers broke the grand spell.

Our basilica would soon close.

Until tomorrow, my beautiful dove,

I will read again, my sweet love.

*** *** *** *** ***

love poemsinspirational
61

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • noor4 months ago

    fav place!

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I could smell this. ☺️ Libraries and bookstores will always be my favorite indoor places.

  • Deasun T. Smythabout a year ago

    Congratulations! Love the ending lines, and it's so relatable. Great job!

  • Muhammad Irfanabout a year ago

    Bravo

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    It is really like that when you find the one❤️ That book that connects to your soul and helps you enter another world. Beautifully written ❤️ Congratulations on your top story ❤️

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    You know I love all things books and literature. I love the way your poem combines the thrill of being amongst troves of books and also finding "the one". I had a hard time choosing my favorite line, so I'm picking two: "Her inner voice foraged my heart." and "Her papyrus scent filled my mind." Congratulations on a well deserved Top Story!

  • Kayla Lindleyabout a year ago

    The imagery here is amazing! Liked this alot!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the well deserved TS

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh this was gorgeous!! I am in love with this line, 'Her papyrus scent filled my mind'. Really beautiful work, Scott!! Congratulations on Top Story :)

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    “I know, I know, I know who you are” Chills! This was so warm and enchanting Scott, congrats on top story 🥰

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Absolutely stunning!!! Excellent job here. Storytelling in art form. Congratulations my friend!

  • Nice piece ❤️congratulations on the Top Story🎉✨

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Such a beautiful poem to the stories and characters we find between the pages of a book, though my interpretation was a bit meta. If every life is a book, then we must make our own worth reading. That way whoever reads it will find what they were looking for :). Congratulations on your Top Story.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    There is a fine music that flows through these words. So beautiful

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congratulations, Scott!! ❤️❤️

  • Erica Wagnerabout a year ago

    I love a love poem to reading! Made me smile. Thanks so much for sharing.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    WOW! This was so beautifully done, Scott! Captivating! I had chills. Going back in for another read. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your Too Story

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Mesmerizing! Just fantastic, Scott!

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Fantastic imagery. Well done sir!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Amazing how this builds to a point of pure satisfaction! Great effect!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Goodness. How wonderfully full of heart!❤

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wow… this was stunning, Scott!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was incredible I had to reread this again to appreciate all the wonderful lines

  • I luv how you put this together, the cathedral like a sanctuary for books and the book itself a living thing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.