Poets logo

The Broken Dream Angel

a poem story by Autumn Nolan

By Autumn LarsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
The Broken Dream Angel
Photo by Metin Ozer on Unsplash

I am like a glass angel

So beautiful and yet so fragile

You must hold me so gently or I shall break

If you ever let me go I shall shatter

So here I sit collecting dust

I am now long since forgotten

On this shelf of mine

If maybe you dusted the shelf

Maybe you shall find me

I am hiding behind these cobwebs and dust

I have been here for a while

A century it seems

I fear if you touch my delicate skin

That I shall break

I fear that I to may turn to dust

My voice has long since be gone

My voice is lost inside

This broken soul of mine

I know this so

For I have not heard it say

A single word since that day

My arms are permanently at my side

One of my hand’s is shattered

Close to breaking away

Please don’t let me go

I am not ready to go

I know I am taking up to much room

But you have forgotten me until now

So please still be gentle with me

You may have forgotten me

But I have not forgotten you

For you were my friend

Always holding me close to your heart

Making wishes every passing hour

I do not understand you much anymore

One day you were dreaming so proudly

Smiling so lively

the next I am a forgotten antique on your shelf

I still see you cry

Those dry tears

I still hear you screaming

Those bullets like words

I still remember

How you bought that jar

I still can see you putting all your broken parts and dreams in the jar

Sitting them down right beside me

Then the world turned dark

I wish I could push the jar off my shelf

It was a horrible

A cold-hearted thing to feel

Even for glass angel like me

The jar makes me remember

All those dreams

You whispered to me

They make me remember

How you twirled and laughed

How you smiled with happiness

Knowing that you were going to be somebody

But now the dreams are have been laid to waste

In the broken jar

They scream out to me

But I cannot do anything

For I am the glass angel

Slowly falling to pieces

With your broken dreams right beside me

We are all slowly fading into nothing

But it seems to me

Until today

That was the only who believed in

But your dreams are now like me

On a shelve

Dusty and broken

We are long since forgotten

So ask you

What are you doing today

I watched in fear

As you start packing away

Was today the day I get to throw away.

You bump my shelf

I almost fall

But she catches me

Oh, daddy, she cries out

So beautiful

You seemed shocked at the shape I am in

You sigh and say

Oh my dear

She is the broken dream angel

Broken dream angel?

She cries

Oh no daddy

She’s my angel now

Now you just wait and see old friend

She will dream as you had

I shall be there

As her dream angel

If she forgets me

I shall surely die

But today I do not care

For today I am alive

I am like a glass angel

So beautiful and yet so fragile

You must hold me so gently or I shall break

If you ever let me go I shall shatter

So here I sit collecting dust

I am now long since forgotten

On this shelf of mine

If maybe you dusted the shelf

Maybe you shall find me

I am hiding behind these cobwebs and dust

I have been here for a while

A century it seems

I fear if you touch my delicate skin

That I shall break

I fear that I to may turn to dust

My voice has long since be gone

My voice is lost inside

This broken soul of mine

I know this so

For I have not heard it say

A single word since that day

My arms are permanently at my side

One of my hand’s is shattered

Close to breaking away

Please don’t let me go

I am not ready to go

I know I am taking up to much room

But you have forgotten me until now

So please still be gentle with me

You may have forgotten me

But I have not forgotten you

For you were my friend

Always holding me close to your heart

Making wishes every passing hour

I do not understand you much anymore

One day you were dreaming so proudly

Smiling so lively

the next I am a forgotten antique on your shelf

I still see you cry

Those dry tears

I still hear you screaming

Those bullets like words

I still remember

How you bought that jar

I still can see you putting all your broken parts and dreams in the jar

Sitting them down right beside me

Then the world turned dark

I wish I could push the jar off my shelf

It was a horrible

A cold-hearted thing to feel

Even for glass angel like me

The jar makes me remember

All those dreams

You whispered to me

They make me remember

How you twirled and laughed

How you smiled with happiness

Knowing that you were going to be somebody

But now the dreams are have been laid to waste

In the broken jar

They scream out to me

But I cannot do anything

For I am the glass angel

Slowly falling to pieces

With your broken dreams right beside me

We are all slowly fading into nothing

But it seems to me

Until today

That was the only who believed in

But your dreams are now like me

On a shelve

Dusty and broken

We are long since forgotten

So ask you

What are you doing today

I watched in fear

As you start packing away

Was today the day I get to throw away.

You bump my shelf

I almost fall

But she catches me

Oh, daddy, she cries out

So beautiful

You seemed shocked at the shape I am in

You sigh and say

Oh my dear

She is the broken dream angel

Broken dream angel?

She cries

Oh no daddy

She’s my angel now

Now you just wait and see old friend

She will dream as you had

I shall be there

As her dream angel

If she forgets me

I shall surely die

But today I do not care

For today I am alive

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Autumn Larson

My name is Autumn Larson

I believe in the truth of the heart and hard work.

I want to inspire and touch people's hearts

I am a part time store clerk and full time inspired writer, poet, artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.