Poets logo

The Breakup

A poem about how sometimes things aren't quite what they seem

By Alison McBainPublished 8 days ago 1 min read
The Breakup
Photo by jesse ramirez on Unsplash

That's it, then.

I guess.

Did you remember to pack up your kitchen stuff?

I took all my things.

Your... measuring spoons?

Yeah, I got those.

The cactus cup from that Mexican place in Texas?

What are you talking about?

You know the one... the restaurant we went to after my cousin's wedding.

That broke years ago.

Oh. I see. What about your Swiftie sweatshirt? That was in the dryer—

I would NEVER forget my Swiftie stuff. What kind of fan do you take me for?

Okay, then maybe you forgot to check under the bed?

Under the bed? Why?

Maybe you forgot something. Maybe it dropped to the floor while you were packing.

Unlikely, but okay. Hold on. Let me go look.

Find anything?

What's this? Why does this box have my name on it?

Open it and find out.

What the... did you do this?

Maybe. Do you like it?

But I thought you said you never wanted to get married. That it's just a trap.

Yes... I did say that.

So, why the ring?

Do you like it?

Of course... it's beautiful.

So are you. Inside and out. I didn't understand that, REALLY understand it, until you left.

What are you saying? Oh my God, you're dropping to one knee…

Yes, Maria. I love you. I don't want to lose you. We're perfect together.

Will you marry me?

...

Maria, if you don’t have an answer now, that’s okay. I understand if you—

Yes. Yes, Steven. Yes, I'll marry you.

Oh, thank God. I thought you were going to say no for a minute.

I was thinking about it.

Really?

No, of course not. I love you, you big dummy.

Me too... not the dummy part, though.

You better not call me a dummy.

Never.

Then I think we're good here.

Yeah. We're good.

love poems

About the Creator

Alison McBain

Alison McBain writes fiction & poetry, edits & reviews books, and pens a webcomic called “Toddler Times.” In her free time, she drinks gallons of coffee & pretends to be a pool shark at her local pub. More: http://www.alisonmcbain.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Raihana H.8 days ago

    Awww! That was so sweet! At first, I was like they're breaking up! And then the twist! Love it! 🥰

Alison McBainWritten by Alison McBain

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.