Poets logo

The Best Part of me is You

You think you’re broken, until you’re found.

By Ariana Yeager Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
The Best Part of me is You
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I want to lay in bed holding your hand, as we laugh uncontrollably at a Madea movie playing on tv.

I want to crack jokes with you and watch your eyes light with pure joy. I want your laugh, your voice to be the only sound that echos in my heart repeatedly.

My heart aches with pain when you’re not near and longs for the moment when it’s wrapped in your presence once more.

I want to talk softly to you in bed wrapped in your arms, covered by a blanket blocking out all else. I love the soft sound of your voice. I’m so attracted to the way you talk, the way you make words sound, I wish for your voice to be on a playlist that never stops. I just can’t describe the warmth inside when you talk to me; When you say your words as you look me in the eyes.

I’ve always been one to look away but you’re the only person who can make my eyes stay. Stay locked on yours as we smile and talk and giggle. My eyes locked on yours, where I wish they could stay, finally free, at home, never again feeling like they should look away.

I want to touch your hair, and embrace in how good you smell. If I could have any candle in the world, the scent would be you. If I had the choice I would never leave your grasp in the morning, but even so you give me the strength to make it through the day, you give me a strength that no one has been able to give me before.

Never in my life have I felt fully accepted, able to act in my truest version. With you I don’t fear judgment, with you I’m able to see all that I am and not feel ashamed. You provide a safe space for me to be the person who I always kept hidden within.

I never felt genuinely cared about until you. You’ve done things for me that I never even thought I’d deserve or receive, even the little things. It’s beyond me that I was so fortunate to have met you, let alone be cared about by you.

That’s the highest honor.

I always thought that whoever you end up with will be the absolute luckiest person in the world and before this all, it saddened me that it wouldn’t be me. I never thought you could like me. And I still struggle to see what you see, but you do one hell of a job at showing me how you view me, at making me swell with admiration and appreciation for you. You make me look in the mirror and not see everything wrong with me, but everything that may be right.

I don’t just think we’re on the same wavelength, I think you are my wavelength.

Every moment with you that you grant me in this life will always be the best parts of my story.

Every moment with you allows me to feel alive in ways I never deemed possible. Every moment with you reminds me of the demons I fought that led me to you, and every fight was worth it, a million times worth it; if it meant I got the privilege of meeting you.

And now that you’re here, those demons have backed down, not even the Devil himself would try to interfere with the happiness and life you bleed into my veins.

The only thing I’m sure about in my life right now is that I want to continue this adventure with you permanently if you allow me too.

One day I hope you see that you saved a soul. A lost soul. A soul that considered herself broken beyond repair. A soul that realized she wasn’t really broken, she was just missing her mate, her other half, which made it hard for her to function properly. But now, she isn’t just a soul, she’s a soulmate. And that is the most thrilling yet healing thing to be.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.