Poets logo

Losing Battle

It feels like anxiety always wins

By Ariana Yeager Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Losing Battle
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Even though I was used to the unease that found a permanent home in my soul, I was never ready for when it came at full force.

Always uncomfortable and on high alert, my brain never settled.

The daunting feeling in my stomach held hands with the sickening grip that squeezed my throat from the inside out.

My thoughts rush around my head like a never ending game of pinball.

As hard as I tried to come off as "normal", it was never good enough. I know I'm always seen as weird, or awkward.

I hate always feeling on edge. I hate always being scared. I hate that my best friend is anxiety.

I don't like to be alone, but I'd rather be alone than clung to by a soul crushing weight.

I don't like the silence, but it'd be better than my worries never ceasing their all too loud echo within my head.

I don't like to face the night alone, but facing it alone is better than sleeping with a demon who plays nightmares behind your eyelids.

I don't like to talk, but facing that fear would be better than being forced to freeze or look weird all because anxiety won't let me communicate normally.

Anxiety is not always just mental, sometimes it's just as physical too.

And while I try not to get consumed whole, sometimes it's just easier than fighting a battle you know you'll lose.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.