Poets logo

The Beginning of the Semester

Full Circle Peak Critique Critique!

By Kendall Defoe Published 8 months ago 1 min read
12
The Beginning of the Semester
Photo by Seema Miah on Unsplash

No textbooks or course outlines, calendars and plans.

Students running like chickens, headless, with less control.

Staff hiding from teachers; teachers hunting staff...

Classroom changes (last-minute musical chairmanship without pleasant melodies).

My own flop-sweat despite experience, preparation, and sense of humour.

I would not change a damn thing about it!

Quality, not quantity...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirationalhumorheartbreak
12

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    <3

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    You brought me back to my days of university. The beautiful chaos of a new school year. This is so good!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is great! glad you are doing something you love!

  • Lol, I agree with Mark! Better you than me! Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    I miss school! I like this piece.

  • "And would you be that great teacher?" (A paraphrase from "Cheers" the episode where Carla Tortelli's polygamous husband has prepared a message to send to her in the event of his death--& the other wife subsequently asking if there is a message for her.) No need to answer. I'm pretty sure yours would be one of aspiration rather than confession. The very fact that you would not claim such a descriptor for yourself but would always aspire to become such, tells me all I need to know. (And all your students need to know about you, too.)

  • Really very well written. Sounds like you love what you do!!!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    I love teaching and I'm sure you're that proverbial great one!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Better you than me!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.