Poets logo

That life...

by, "That Girl Muse."

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I want you to tell me, what you know about, "that life?"

What do you know about, loss, and "true pain?"

Living at the corner of Front street, under a bridge, sleeping on a construction fence. Resting, next to junkies, and addicts, because they were the only one's, to help you, when you were abandoned by your 'friends'.

Go ahead. Tell me what you know about, painting for pennies, so you could buy yourself, bread.

Go ahead. Tell me about the last time, you thought, you'd be better off, dead.

I can tell you some things, that would make the hair, stand up, on your head.

What do you know about,"that life"?

I'm asking, for real, now. And I'm not playing.

What do you know about,"that life?"

Have you had your own family, cast you out, because of your imperfection?

Isolated, and intolerant, to anyone jaded and made to feel ashamed, for your individuality, and how you were created.

What do you know about that?

What do you know about having your innocence, taken from you, while you slept, in your own house; or even, while you walked home, in the neighborhood, from school, with friends. What do you know about it?

What do you know about skipping 4th period to burn a spliff, with your so-called best-friend, and having her set you up, to get assaulted by her, closest,'good friends'.

Tell me what you know about stabbing your rapist, to keep from dying, as your only defence.

Tell me, what you know, about, "that life."

Tell me, what you know about, betrayal.

Have you ever, had the lawyer, settle your lawsuit, and your mom, swipe, your bank card, to reap the dividends?

Go ahead... tell me about, "that life!"

Like you know it.

Please, indulge me, and tell me, what it's like to have the love of your life, get pregnant, for another man, while in a relationship, with you. Tell me what it's like to have them hide, from you, for nine months, because they didn't have the balls, to face you!

Go on, tell me, what you know about, 'betrayal of trust'?

Tell me how you gotta " protect your heart,"because "you must..."

And yet, you pawn it, like 2 4 1 DVD's, being confiscated by the 'Po Po' at a 'Pac-Mall' bust!

Tell me about lies.

Tell me how, you've let a person, who you thought loved you, into your life and showed them your whole world, home and family... before they gave you, two, black eyes.

Go on, tell me about, "that life."

I bet you can't tell me what it's like, to lose children, and have the doctor tell you, that, "you'll never be able to, create, or carry, another life."

Please, go on and tell me, how, it hurts, to live.

Go ahead...

Tell me about, "that life."

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.