Poets logo

That Day

The cold sting of reality

By Cathy holmesPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
21
Photo by Marylou Fortier on Unsplash

I never thought about you much in my twenties.

I never thought about you much in my early thirties either.

I never felt the need.

I never not felt the need.

Sitting on that cold concrete bench

in front of the drab, sterile grey of that medical building,

the monotonous buzz of midday traffic overwhelmed by

thoughts of the drab, sterile tone of the doctor’s voice.

Fibroids. Cysts. Polyps.

Hysterectomy.

Confused waves of laughter

drowning in an ocean of tears.

I never thought of you.

I never wanted you.

I never not wanted you either.

I never knew how much I’d miss you,

Until I knew

You were never meant to be.

fact or fictionheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
21

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Cathy, I am so sorry. My heart:(. You wrote this so beautifully—every word holding a million emotions. I know there is nothing I can say to soothe that wound, but what I wish I could do is sit next to you to help hold the silence and share the tears. I am sending you the biggest virtual hug that I can!

  • I'm at a loss for words my friend. I'm so so sorry. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Beautifully written… I never knew how much I’d miss you. Take care.🥹

  • Caroline Craven5 months ago

    Oof. This one hit hard. Can definitely understand. You wrote this beautifully. All the best to you Cathy.

  • Colleen Millsteed 5 months ago

    I’m sorry you experienced this my friend. Thank you for sharing your story 🥰

  • Lynda Spargur5 months ago

    I never thought about having children until a week before my own surgery. No regrets though. Thanks for sharing this.

  • Such an ache, an emptiness you never knew was there until it could no longer be filled. So poignant.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Superbly powerful!!! Felt the heartbreak!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    It's sadly beautiful. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    This is so heartbreaking. No woman should have to go through this.

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Outstanding

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    💛💜💚💙

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Wow, so very powerful and sad at the same time.

  • TheSpinstress5 months ago

    This is touching and powerful. I love the sensory elements - I can hear the traffic and then whoosh, the comparative silence of the hospital.

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    This is so real and so powerful and deep and haunting and just, yeah. ❤️❤️. A choice sure doesn’t feel like a choice after it’s basically made for you, even if you would may have chosen it anyway.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.