Poets logo

Terror in the Night

Horror story poem

By Laura LannPublished 30 days ago 1 min read
1
Terror in the Night
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

He peels off his mask and leans in close

To whisper of all the things he has to boast.

And I know he’s come for me and mine

To twist up my corpse like braided twine.

His eyes gleam white and pale

His mouth screams a ghostly gale.

To the woods I run, to dash and flee

To knock against rough bark and tree.

Quick and nimble, jump a fallen log.

In mud knee deep, skirt the hollow bog.

Footfalls yell as he runs, he chases

My pulse through the black, he traces.

I dare not look back to see,

How close he is to me.

And as I near the vast lake,

My life his sharp blade to take

And burry deep down in red,

Then in the lake lay to bed.

I scream and trash against this doom

My cries lost with the call of the loon.

CONTENT WARNINGperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk29 days ago

    Terrifying. So well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.