Poets logo

Storming

A poem about finding beauty in the strange and mundane.

By Suze KayPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Storming
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

There's magic in this world and I'm learning how to find it.

On a hot day, mist gathers in the meat aisle and I drift through it.

On a cold one, steam rises from my skin.

Look, how water makes my face shine and my hair sleek. Look how it trickles and falls, in tears and exhalations.

It's all magic, everywhere, and it's asking me to come outside:

look for where it's hiding, on a mossy plank by the river bed,

in the sundog shining against a bruise-dark cloud.

Even the dead bird, too young for feathers, baking on the sun-hot pavement tomorrow.

Even the leak gathering on the floorboards, because we've lived here for three years and today is the first time the rain fell sideways.

And the lightning strike that shook me loose from the couch with a shout. Car alarms and scalded retinas blaring danger! Magic! Look how close it was!

nature poetry

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Test5 months ago

    Nature is definitely the puret magic. Loved the personification of thunder - and yeah it does have a way of waking you the heck up! I love a good storm TBF Brilliantly crafted as always!

  • This was so very well written. Excellent job!!!

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    This was beautifully written. New subscriber!

  • Test5 months ago

    Beautiful. It's very hopeful small things are sometimes the best things to use to hold on to hope.

  • Brin J.6 months ago

    I’ve always agreed that nature is magical. No one could convince me otherwise. Just look at a sunset after a storm, or the moon during an eclipse. Just… magical. I love this poem <3

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Suze, this was such a beautiful tribute to the mundane and things often overlooked! I love rain and this had me yearning for spring time! Great work!

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    Love it! I could feel magic flourish in every corner of my room. And then your poem came to an end - and no magic, not anymore. But it was so close, indeed!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Oh wow! I am so glad Poppy shared this on her post. This was a stunning look at how magic can be found just about anywhere if you look for it and learn to appreciate it. Lovely words, Suze! Gorgeous work!

  • Darla M Seely11 months ago

    Misty, Please read my poems in the short and sweet contest

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    Hey, just letting you know I shared this poem in a story on my profile: https://vocal.media/poets/poppy-s-preferences

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Oh just incredible. I love the way you frame some of the more negative or mundane things as magic, and unify them all as of a kind. It speaks to an optimism I don’t see too much and I loved immersing myself in it. 💜👏👏👏

  • Darla M Seely11 months ago

    Nice please read my live poems

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    This is just beautiful. “Look how it trickles and falls, in tears and exhalations” and “ Even the leak gathering on the floorboards, because we've lived here for three years and today is the first time the rain fell sideways” is my favourite. Definitely deserves a top story

  • Mesh Toraskar11 months ago

    Oh gosh, the imagery here is sublime. Every line told a story and I loved that! Stunningly written :)

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    I love this poem so much. I also learned how to look for magic in the mundane. It's everywhere if we're willing to see it. Bravo

Suze KayWritten by Suze Kay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.