Poets logo

Sometimes Nothing IS - All There Is

Empty

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago β€’ Updated 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
31
Sometimes Nothing IS - All There Is
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I tried to write it all down,

but the words were being evasive.

Describe my feelings, during the meltdown.

but my mood, only got in the way.

I tried to be clever and witty,

but sarcasm ran through my head.

I tried to fill up the page,

but it chose to remain empty instead.

I turned on some tunes to get focused,

opened the window, and let in the breeze.

The words offered me peace, and a bonus,

my soul felt renewed and at ease.

I thought of words kind and uplifting,

some words that stirred horror and rage.

I tried once again to write it down on the page,

but it chose to stay empty, instead.

slam poetry
31

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Asa Moni11 months ago

    Kelli, I really Enjoyed the story! in fact excellent!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Yes exactly this to the nth degree! Quite often the words have a will of their own! A brilliant piece! And congrats on TS!

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    I think a large part of the writer's life is the "empty" or "nothing" that rears it's ugly head. This is a great piece! You really brought this struggle to life!

  • Ever since reading a cartoon about 20-20 hindsight (1st frame, couple lying in bed, she accuses him of having 20-20 hindsight; 2nd frame, he objects, insisting, "I do not!"; 3rd frame, she's asleep, he's stewing, thinking to himself, "When she said I had 20-20 hindsight, I should have said...."), I've decided that's what I have--only I've discovered that not even my hindsight is 20-20! Sometimes I'm thankful for that, still being allowed to relish the saucy bit of sarcastic wit without actually having said it. But when it's affirmation or something positive, I still wish....

  • Nesou11 months ago

    πŸ–ŠοΈπŸŽΆβœ¨ Don't worry, sometimes the words may seem elusive, but that doesn't define your creativity. Embrace the mood and let your feelings flow. Remember, even in the empty spaces, there is room for renewal and peace. 🌬️✨🌟 Keep exploring different avenues, like music and nature, to find inspiration. Your words will find their way back, filling the page with kindness, upliftment, and emotions that stir. πŸŒˆπŸ’«πŸ“ Stay patient and keep expressing yourselfβ€”the journey of writing is as important as the destination. Keep shining! ✨🌼🌟

  • Congratulations on your Top Story Kelli !!!

  • Supsie M11 months ago

    Simple words. Wow !

  • Andrew Zuk11 months ago

    Congrats

  • Mahrosh Khan11 months ago

    Congrats :)

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Soooo relatable! Congrats on TS, well-deserved :)

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Perfect title for a very relatable poem. Congrats, Kelli!

  • Congratulations on your Top Storyβ€οΈπŸ˜‰πŸ’―πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Oh, I can relate...

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    The blank page... I've actually had nightmares about it before XD Loved this piece :)

  • JamaisWang11 months ago

    Your article has deeply touched me, and I would like to express my gratitude to you once again. If possible, could you guide me on how to write a story?

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Yay - Congrats on Top Story!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    I relate to this one! 😩❀️ congrats on your Top Story!

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Sometimes this happens. 😊 Very nice - love the flow!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Very well said, Kelli! I've felt this way so many times πŸ₯²

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Well Kelli, you just perfectly described how a lot of us writers feel. Sometimes it is a difficult struggle to find the words.

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Kelli ~ Ah, the power of the pen ~ May I offer a suggestion? I often leave the writing to my 'Alter-Ego' where Ideas flow through me as my fingers do the work - saves all of the mental fret-stress - Just joking; or am I. I so admire you work - don't "Fret" about it Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Awesome πŸ‘ ❀️

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Don't eat the book though, but I relate and agree with your poem. As usual, Kelli, you always have your fingers on the pulse that we are all thinking!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well said, Kelli. In fact, I can't say it any better than you did with your title. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.