Poets logo

Somebody's Thrill

Ready for whoever shows up

By Tanner PeifferPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Somebody wants to rule the world

How the song said everyone does

But nobody wants to face the music

Or contribute to the buzz

***

Somebody wants to fist fight with fire

As the icecaps melt alone

But nobody wants to fight fire with fire

As lava turns to stone

***

There’s nothing we could do to them that we wouldn’t do to ourselves

In the throes of a battle with consciousness as we try to ring the bells

That would hit that sound inside of us to resonate with bliss

Under the guise of satisfaction, we always resort to this-

***

Waterboarding the enemy, waterlogging the self

Watering uprooted plants that represent our health

When dehydration rattles us, we snake our own desires-

We’d rather be labeled as clever wires than twisted tangled liars

***

Somebody wants to see the sparkle in my emerald eye go out

But somebody wants to give me green and care for my sapling sprout

Somebody wants to take away the stars behind my eyes

But somebody wants to give me the Milky Way and muffle my nighttime cries

***

There’s nothing I could do to myself that they wouldn’t do to me

But there’s plenty of things I’d never do as an LA devotee

So I’ll keep my shield and shaders drawn

As a mob comes over the hill

With an army of those who care for me

I’m ready for somebody’s thrill

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.