Poets logo

Everyone Writes The News

Realizing how important it is to enjoy the ride of life

By Tanner PeifferPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Anyone can make the headlines

And everyone writes the news

Someone will read your final words

So what’ve you got to lose?

***

Nothing in life is what I thought it would be

But it isn’t better or worse

It’s a karmic answer, a question’s guide

And a wish-forgiving curse

It’s an enigmatic machination

That leaves me dazed and confused

It’s a bleeding palette of water color

That I can’t control, but I use

***

Dipped in honey, a precious rose

Whose petals fell with grace

Given the knowledge that no one knows

When to wear leather or lace-

Blooms again for its own taste of beauty

And its own commitment to me

***

Dipped in fountains of chocolate and cheese

When fortune outpaces the race

Time will tell if the future sees

My hands across your face

Dipped in reminders of wails and pleas

How it wasn’t always this way-

I’ll cherish the coaster that gave me the key

To shift my perspective today

***

Pulled up by the chain lift and back down over the hill

In a helix of talking through tears

Whipping through life, I raise my hands

For the first time in twenty years

I’ve been clutching the lap bar, protecting my fear

As I tightened my grip on control

But I’m letting it go, and I can finally hear

The wind in my hair as I roll

***

Anyone can make the headlines

And everyone writes the news

Someone will read my final words

So what’ve I got to lose?

inspirationalsurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.