Poets logo

So I will

*

By Heather HublerPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
47
Created with CanvaPro

I'm rearranging my pieces,

scrambling and unscrambling them,

shifting and shoving.

Some got bent,

twisted into the wrong

chalk outlines,

mismatched squares in round holes,

desiccated souls where

whole bodies should be.

I'm not sure if my efforts

are even possible

or plausible,

but I want to try...

to rebrand,

rebuild,

reinvent myself.

So I will.

I'll push my weathered hands down

past this dry, cracked soil

that's crumbling

in this cemetery plot where

I've been wasting away while

life keeps on living,

to get to the core of what

it means to be me.

I'll reach deep and deeper,

filling my mouth,

swallowing down

the rich brown earth below

until I can taste the change,

feel my pulse slow as the scent of

hope pushes past my clogged nostrils,

the sound of peaceful silence

ringing in my overstuffed ears,

blocking the voices shouting

out my lack of worth.

And then finally, at long last,

open my dirt-caked eyes

to watch as the blinders

fall away and my perspective

s h i f t s.

The ending drifts away,

circling back around

to cling to the beginning.

A drum beat pounds out the rhythm

to my resuscitated heart.

I emerge a patchwork of new and old

pieces stitched together

in a blend of past, present, and future–

wholly me.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading!

Author's note: I love that 'earth' and 'heart' are intertwined. Simply shift the 'h' :)

inspirational
47

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Oh, congrats, you know, on another Top Story that you deserve, pal!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    This is just spectacular. Sorry I took so long to get to it. This is just...yes...and you used dessicated. Which I love and I too love the heart and earth play. Wonderfuk...powerful...just yeah. Ms Hubler. You astound me. Findamndinzilch.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Just circled back to congratulate you on Top Story. The Vocal curators really got it right on this one!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Extremely powerful and raw piece ❤️💕👏🥰

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Great work as always my friend! Congrats!!!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    This is intriguing I love how the patchwork of nature acts as a metaphor for how you, as a human being relate to our planet, Earth.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    Excellent. ❤

  • Gerald Holmes2 months ago

    So masterfully done. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story

  • Angel Malaika 2 months ago

    Wow so beautiful ❤️

  • An incredibly beautiful piece, Heather. Congrats on the top story!

  • Some great images here, excellent work

  • ema2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! Wonderful poem!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Psst. Congrats on the TS, Empress.

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Love the imagery of digging deep and the fact that you did just that in this one. Truly an oustanding piece, Heather! - Bro

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Such vivid imagery. I'm trying to pick my favorite line, but there are too many really good ones.

  • Rin Obito2 months ago

    Read this story:https://vocal.media/writers/unveiling-the-genius-behind-goku

  • JBaz2 months ago

    ‘Open my dirt caked eyes’ These words and ever other one in this piece re@cues out to me….to spring and to say there is a new beginning. Congratulations

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Gina C.2 months ago

    Gorgeous, heart-felt work as always! The emotion you manage to weave into your pieces always brings me to my knees. Amazing poem, dear friend! 😍

  • Kelly Dunkle2 months ago

    “I'll push my weathered hands down past this dry, cracked soil that's crumbling in this cemetery plot where I've been wasting away while life keeps on living”. POW 💥

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    Such a vulnerable piece. This resonates with me 💖

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Strong poetry! I think this is my favorite bit: "swallowing down the rich brown earth below until I can taste the change"

  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    You have depth layers here that are incredible! I could feel the stages of change in my gut. I like this "No-skimming-through-the-hard-parts-cuz-ya-gonna-get-the-full-Monty" type writing you did here. It demands reflection without apology. Makes us ALL think...

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    I like the being one with earth metaphor. Body and soul comes together for inspirational new beginnings. Bloody well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.