Poets logo

So...

Open Heart Surgery Poetry...or Something. Thoughts. Feelings.

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
So...
Photo by amir maleky on Unsplash

So...

I've been thinking a lot recently

Well, I never stop thinking

Thinking and thinking

Thinking and regretting

About everything in my life

All the terrible mistakes

All the unjust heartaches

All the stress

All the anxiety

The way I see it

In your eyes, when they meet

It's always there, somewhere

Even as we try to move on

The times I've failed

Failed to show up

Failed to fess up

Failed to be honest

Failed to be loyal

things I've said

things I've done

times I've messed up

times I've fessed up

Covered my tracks

Covered my errors

Piled lies up high

Tried to make excuses

Absolute negligence

Complete indifference

Total obliviousness

Downright cruelness

Lacking responsibility

Lacking accountability

The hole I'm in

The pit I'm in

The doubt you feel

The distrust you feel

Is all on me

Being clean is not enough

Being sorry is not enough

Action is required

Change is required

Can I win in the end?

I need to hope I will

Can we win in the end?

I need to hope we will

A dark shadow follows me

A dark shadow follows us

I try not to make excuses

It still happens

I try to be kind at all times

But, often, I'm still cruel

Following the same path

I've always followed

I'm still trying

Very trying, some would say

Being on the wrong side

Has taken its toll

left me with a hole

Has taken me down

But I'm not done

I never will be

I will win

The alternative

Is not an option

Whether I will or not

Time and actions will tell

The pain I've caused hits me

Often when I'm least expecting

I work, wait, hope and pray

The rain comes down

The clouds dissipate

And the sun shines again

And we are happy again

*

Thanks for reading!

inspirationalsocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Just gorgeous and heartwrenching. Well done.

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    As always, your expressions of honesty and humanness are so heartfully written, with such vulnerability. I truly felt the grief, regret, the pain of a past that still haunts– but the ending was full of redemption. We are not who we were yesterday. Every day we get to choose. Sometimes it's hard to make the right choice, but then, there's always the next minute, and the next, and the next, and the next.... Beautiful and honest work, Paul!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Great writing Paul - I felt a bit sad but I like the structure and honesty and hopefulness. 👏😊

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff11 months ago

    This sounds like slam poetry or some kind of catchy chant. I enjoyed the honesty and vulnerability. This line was particularly clever: "I'm still trying Very trying".

  • Whoaaaa, now that was a scary downward spiral! Luckily the ending is positive. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨11 months ago

    You always did the very best you could with what you knew at the time…. no regrets. Only painful lessons learned, and wisdom earned ✨❤️

  • Dean F. Hardy11 months ago

    Well done Paul, really enjoyed that. Keep dancin'.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh, I felt so much of this, my friend 🥹❤️ So raw and vulnerable; I also loved the inspirational ending ❤️❤️

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    "I'm still trying Very trying, some would say Being on the wrong side Has taken its toll left me with a hole Has taken me down But I'm not done" Wow. The poetic play in these lines is amazing. I really love the changing meaning of "trying" in the first two lines. Then the double action of "being on the wrong side" is genius. This section is illustrative of the entirety, being a showcase of wonderful art, the words leaping off the page in rich emotion and narrative progression. A round of applause for you, my friend. And I do hope everything is going well in your life. ❤️

  • Heading to a meeting would probably help.

  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    "very trying, some would say" 👏 Fortunately you are both - very trying.....and trying very hard. Good work!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Ok, you had me wondering for a moment with the subtitle. Well done, sir!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.