Poets logo

Slipping

An self-reflection letter

By Tressa RosePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
42
Slipping
Photo by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

Slipping,
I'm angry at myself
Because I caught myself slipping.
By the time I was out of the impulsiveness
And into a more aware state of mind
About my choices and behaviors
I had already slipped into a pattern
I thought long dead and gone.
I can hear the devil laughing with joy
As I sit here and shrivel into my shame.
I try and find the reason why I suddenly lost all control,
but really I need not look far.
At least,
that is if I'm willing to be real with myself.
But being honest with myself is hard
When the reality contradicts the desires and hopes of my heart.
It takes courage to really see
And accept the truth for what it is…
Ugly,
Uncomfortable,
Unstable.
That's why more times than not,
I fall into the comfort of my minds made up moments
And all the skewed ways my head chooses to turn fantasy into something real.
It's easier that way, right?
Until the false mirror breaks
And your just left with shattered pieces of what never actually was.
Romancing people, places, and things
To give me a false sense of comfort
Always remembering just a little too late,
That I always set my expectations
And the bar far to high
For any normal human being
To be able to reach.
Putting you on the grandest pedestal
So I always inadvertently allow myself to end up disappointed and feeling unsatisfied,
Time and time again.
Then after,
I feel justified in ignoring my own unhealed traumas, baggage, and core issues.
And instead, turning the tables and saying
“You are the problem.”
I know in those situations
It's me that's the problem.
But why can I never remember it
When I need to the most?


First DraftStream of Consciousnesssad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
42

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Very real and relatable. Congrats, Tressa!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Thanks for sharing and congrats on TS.

  • Andrew Pretzel2 months ago

    Congrats!!!!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Hang in there. Well said. Congrats on the TS.

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    Wow, I relate to this more than I care to ait. Brilliantly insightful writing!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    I think we all slip back into the place we struggled to leave sometimes, particularly when it comes to mental health. Remember, you don't deserve to be punished for having a relapse. This well-written and fantastic top story genuinely explains the complications we face when trying to overcome our obstacles. Well done!

  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    congratulations on TS status. This really makes me look back and into myself. Habits and thoughts that really need to be reassessed. GREAT writing.

  • Hi we are featuring your excellent Top Story in our Community Adventure Thread in The Vocal Social Society on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • This was profound and relatable. One of those poems that draws you in and makes you see yourself in it's lines. Visceral writing

  • Kodah2 months ago

    I'm so sorry Teresa💕🥺 Love your poem, congrats on ts! 💖

  • ema2 months ago

    Beautiful heartbreaking poem Tressa, well done!

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Congrats on top story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Love the rugged honesty of this poem. Great job!

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Ugh. Yes. Ugh. This. Ugh

  • Anna Michelle2 months ago

    So real!

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Congrats on top story!

  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    Your candor and passion are compelling!

  • Kageno Hoshino2 months ago

    Sorry to hear all this, its heartbreaking, hope you are doing good now!!

  • I'm so sorry for all of these 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    We sometimes have to find how to love ourselves in order to accept who we are baggage and all. Very expressive poem for sure

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.