Poets logo

My Relationship With the Sun.

First time posting my writing.

By RabbitPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
1
My Relationship With the Sun.
Photo by Raja Tilkian on Unsplash

Anytime I feel the sun on my skin I get this warmth in my stomach.

No matter the day or time I have to stop and let it caress me for a moment longer than necessary.

I'm just a crazy woman standing on the side walk with my eyes closed, facing the sun.

My dog tugs on his leash but I have to feel it until I'm fulfilled, I can't be moved.

At times I wish I could lay in cool grass for hours face up.

I'd starfish my arms and legs out with my palms up, letting the energy flow through me.

Breathing in the daylight until it reaches every cell in my body.

I wish I could bottle this up all my itself and drink it up.

Instead I take my sunglasses to the bench in the middle of the park.

I perch here on the bench that I've claimed as mine.

Legs crossed underneath me, eyes closed, and baking in the sun.

People cross in front of me and I know they find me strange.

But I need this sunlight more than I need oxygen.

Even as it tans my skin and destroys thousands of dollar of ink.

The heat beats down onto my hair while I find that song that speaks to my soul.

The sun gives me nourishment while I meditate and day dream.

This is my relationship with the sun.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Rabbit

I see the world a little differently than most. Even at a young age I was writing down what I saw but never sharing it with a soul until now. I'm choosing love over fear.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 12 days ago

    Amazing and very warm poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.