Poets logo

Silent Screams

Dis-connected: Vol 1 - 13 (ᴏғ ᴀ ᴘᴇʀꜱᴏɴ) ʟᴀᴄᴋɪɴɢ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴀᴄᴛ ᴡɪᴛʜ ʀᴇᴀʟɪᴛʏ. ᴀ ᴄᴏʟʟᴇᴄᴛɪᴏɴ ᴏғ ᴍʏ ᴅᴇᴇᴘᴇꜱᴛ ғᴇᴇʟɪɴɢꜱ ɪɴ ɪᴛ'ꜱ ᴍᴏꜱᴛ ᴅʀᴀᴍᴀᴛɪᴄ ꜱᴛᴀᴛᴇ.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Silent Screams
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

13. Silent Screams (The Cycle)

There are voices in my head.

They scream, they scream but no words come out.

What could they be talking about?

It sounds like shrieks of horror crying out trying to warn me.

Erratic yelling and weeping that gives you aniexty like someone's creeping.

But warn me of what?

The constant yells that only I can hear, finally they made things clear.

"The cycle, the cycle."

Is what they preached.

"The cycle brings pain, abuse, and then it repeats."

What could these voices be calling out to me?

What is the cycle and what does it want? Why does it cause them to scream out in agony and suffering?

"Stop the cycle, end it now for if you don't it will come back around!"

"What is the cycle? What do you mean?"

"The cycle is apart of everything."

"I will stop it! I'll stop it now all you have to do is tell me how."

The voices become muffled I couldn't understand a sound. The louder they became the more confusing they sound

I grabbed fists of my hair in my hand. Make it stop, make it stop! I was losing my mind.

If I don't find out more, I'll fall behind. I've got to keep up to make up for lost time.

"Lost time? Is that your main concern? If it is, I have bad news for you." I looked in the mirror to see who.

It was life looking back at me. A treacherous wonderland just wait and see.

It was too late...

The prowls of adulthood were calling me. Those were the screams that spoke to me silently.

They are the voices of those who clawed and fought for their happiness in a world where a piece of paper means everything.

Sick, twisted minds come out to play and left in the tracks are the broken remains of the souls they shattered.

Chills so cold my teeth begun to chatter.

As I looked again I could see my skin begin to age. Wrinkles and loose skin became part of my regimen along with stress piled ten feet high.

"Is this my future? Is this all that's left?" I questioned hysterically, growing up is not at all what I thought it would be.

Credit scores, debt, lifetime contracts. It just doesn't seem fair for them not to share. Not everyone here gets equal opportunities.

"The cycle has already begun soon you won't have the time to have fun. And when you do, yes indeed, life will have another trick up it's sleeve." The voice in the mirror said to me.

I panicked, I screamed what does all of this mean?!

"Oh, don't try to get out! Please don't leave because if you do you'll be out on the streets. Trash to the eyes of society as they watch and post then judge quietly. There's no other options you're no longer ripe, you'll be living this way for the rest of you life. Go on, try! Try to beg and plead in the meantime you'll be waiting on a miracle for all eternity."

I broke the mirror running in fear. All along my end was near. With grey hair, fragile, and weak I fell to the ground letting darkness befall me.

I never should have wished for this. Who knew I'd be asking for my own death?

Don't grow up too fast, learn it from me. Growing up is a nightmare, life's not all it's cracked up to be.

-Signed, A girl with broken dreams...

sad poetry

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia LedellWritten by Alicia Ledell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.