Poets logo

Should I Believe

Revise your direction.

By Darrell General IIPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

The due date is arriving

It’s time for something to finally change

Feels unusual, theirs a slight discomfort in my brain

Things seemed so set in stone

Guess I ignored what I was feeling, but after a while things just weren’t the same

I never wanted to lose faith in happy endings

Sadly, sometimes you need to let go

Have faith in the happiness of a new beginning

Why do we turn a blind eye to the things meant to be?

How do I right my wrongs?

How do I make up for lost time?

I’m packing up all my insecurities

Love is on the horizon

I’m moving on to a brighter place in a better mood

I want to look in the mirror and recite I’m proud of you

I have so much love and care to give

No longer content settling for what scraps the unworthy give

I’m stronger now feeling optimistic towards what my love can build

Time to create a love that’s real burning wild it is my will

My heart still aches

I pause for a long take

I reevaluate my time and space

Things have changed but memories still bear pain

I resent the notion forgiveness is just a phrase

But how much time will it take to escape this place

My heart buried you deep within

Mistakes of the brain my heart won’t let upraise

Lord knows none of us are perfect and we all sin

If he forgives us of transgressions

Shouldn’t I learn from his lessons

Give a chance for restitution

Shouldn’t I believe, give hope a chance to plant new seed

You’re sending me love to heal my sores

We have miles among hours between our doors

Time and space for hearts to build a bridge to shore

I’ll be looking forward to your signal fire

Keep your passion blazing

Make way for love to reform our lives

Life’s too uncertain to have regrets

Hearts are fragile, but nothing comes without sacrifice

Just because you know the way into someone’s heart doesn’t mean you should pry

Heart break drives you crazy I’m talking about some serious road rage

I feared being too soft spoken, my voice would never be heard

So invisible lately I wonder if I’ll ever been seen

I need help please there’s a war inside of me

I want to escape from the burdens of my past

Build a new, create a foundation that will forever last

All the while I’m too worried about arriving at the finish to enjoy the ride

I relax into familiar wades instead seeking new waters

I realize now, if I don't live I won't feel myself alive

I believe everyday should be a new beginning

It’s time to revise my direction, I’m opening to welcoming new love

Can I make it through the story and not just have happiness at the beginning?

I’m willing to give love another chance

Still feels like a dream and a dream is just a miracle yet to be seen

so, my future Queen don't shutter your ears, hear my plea

Let’s make memories in a love that will never flee.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Darrell General II

I enjoyed reading and writing as an adolescent, but I found myself astray from my passion as I grew older attempting to appease others and be amongst social groups I had no place. I'm getting reacquainted with my roots; times are changing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.