Poets logo

Shelter me

for Poppy's Prompts | #5

By Heather HublerPublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
8

Written for Poppy's Prompts | #5 (link below)

~

The scent of you envelopes me, my heart begins to slow

The wind and rain thrash and rage, but I'm safe here in your glow

We watch as paint erodes and chips from the storm that rages on

As it melts away my confidence, I take shelter in your arms

You shield me as I cry and weep, descending into sorrow

No matter what today may hold, you'll be my rock tomorrow

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading! Not my best, but I wanted to get something out today as I missed yesterday. Got a bit of sickness last night and then it was my firstborn's birthday today.

love poems
8

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    Wonderful, Heather! A shelter indeed! This really struck a chord today. Was just a boohooing heap that my wonderful husband consoled…

  • Cathy holmes11 days ago

    This is simply lovely. I think it's great. 😊

  • I loved how soft this poem was. Very sweet!

  • Chloe Gilholy13 days ago

    I liked how gently the poem flowed. Happy birthday to your firstborn and hope you feel better soon.

  • Poppy 13 days ago

    This is so gorgeously gentle and beautiful. So well written. "The wind and rain thrash and rage, but I'm safe here in your glow" is a perfect line and that ending was wonderful. Hope you're feeling better and happy birthday to your firstborn!

  • Oh no, I'm so sorry that you got sick. Are you feeling better now? I loved your poem, it made me go awwwww 🥰🥰🥰

  • Joe Patterson13 days ago

    Beautifully written friend.

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    This is so very sweet.

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Terrific!!! Take care!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.