Poets logo

Sensational Void

All the Feels

By Michael L. MartinPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Sensational Void
Photo by Alexis Fauvet on Unsplash

I feel like a shooting star must feel falling fast outta space-

Far outta control- spun in a spiral-

A fiery blaze of love with nothing to lose.

I feel like water must feel when a river meets a cascade-

Each molecule more afraid than the last

As it splashes over the cliff ready to dive down into the abyss.

I feel like a father must feel sending his son off to college

Wondering if knowledge or death will come first.

I feel like a broken wheel left behind to fix itself

As the three others careen off into the distance

Seemingly disappearing with dissonance in an instant.

I feel like one day you will consider my consonance with asinine assumptions.

My adverse plight.

One day you will understand my assonance and gumption.

One day you will understand my at-first-sight love for you.

I feel like one day you will say ok.

One day you will say I do.

One day you will say I knew all along that your song was the song of the birds

In the middle of the day- your song was the song of cacti blooming in November.

Your song was the song of poets and dreamers and architectural artists alike.

Your song was the song I liked too;

Your song allowed me to dream on through- your song was my song too....

love poems
1

About the Creator

Michael L. Martin

Born in Michigan, raised in New Hampshire, and residing in Arizona. 2007 Graduate of the University of Arizona (English and Creative Writing). 2001 and 2005 Hearst Prize for Poetry Winner. Brand new Dad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.