Poets logo

Dreams For Days

Totes Adorbs

By Michael L. MartinPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3
Dreams For Days
Photo by Karina lago on Unsplash

Dreams for days in her eyes:

The ties that bind beautiful minds.

She never hides or tries to disguise her laughs and cries.

She occupies my time with the way she runs and slides.

When I'm with her I'm flying high.

Maybe I'm a total Ted Mosby but I feel like she knows me. Like she gets me.

When she hits she won't hold back;

And when she comes she can't go back to normal no more:

She's so totes adorbes.

I love how she never gets bored.

Slamming Coors at the corner store sitting

In folding chairs and who cares

Who sees anything tonight.

Just once I want to feel real-

Feel alive and well.

I want to feel awake in my dreams for days in her eyes....

Thighs wrapped tight around my head: she leads- she's never led;

and when she's fed up with the bullshit and ready for bed

she's insane in the way she handles her bread.

Words like incredible aren't enough,

damn it, I think I'm in love.

It's tough to watch her move, she makes me melt into a groove:

Like silver metal smelted; and if I've ever seen a woman more beautiful than her

I'm guilty of perjury again.

I'd take the stand and demand the court listen to my testimony-

She's the reason I get up in the morning.

She's not phony like the ladies of La La Land-

She turned around and took my hand and not just because I'm the lead singer of my band.

Her tan line is a fine line between touch and go:

She says yes but means no.

She's the queen of her jungle and I need to know

If when she says come she really means go.

I'd follow the bro code until I grow old;

But now that I've found her naked on the floor

I don't need that book anymore.

There are no rules when it comes to love and war.

There are only forms of poetry to show you the road;

And man when I'm with her I'm in go mode-

Like I said before- she so fucking totes adorbes.

10 million pieces of red, glitter-like light reflections-

On a winter ocean in New England-

And then I remember...

We aren’t single.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Michael L. Martin

Born in Michigan, raised in New Hampshire, and residing in Arizona. 2007 Graduate of the University of Arizona (English and Creative Writing). 2001 and 2005 Hearst Prize for Poetry Winner. Brand new Dad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.