Poets logo

Green Screen Rehearsal

Virgin Mary in Reverse

By Michael L. MartinPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
5
Green Screen Rehearsal
Photo by Dima DallAcqua on Unsplash

Was I crazy to think that with a wink you could take me back to the place I used to dream of monsters wearing green. You said you had seen it before sometime in the summer of ‘04. Being scared silly and acting slap happy as Big Papi sent one screaming out of the park. Fenway at dusk is something everyone must see. If I come clean and tell you what I fear the most will you still sleep with my ghosts?

I hosted a Halloween party in the fall of ‘03 and you came dressed as that chick from the Queen of the Damned. Man you had a thing for things like that back then. And you had all the guys’ heads on swivels wishing they could lend you a hand.

I knew better than to try to get you into bed with a fruit garnished drink and a tiny umbrella. That tiny torn umbrella- a microcosmic metaphor for my infamous hunger for more lost love. Love came easy in my dreams.

Scared silly and slap happy.

We sat in section 9, row 12, seats 1&2. You put on a show for the boys in blue. But green was your color then and the monsters dancing in your head could not be quelled. The more I cheered, the more you yelled. I guess it was the next morning when I realized our umbrella was torn.

I always feared myself the most anyways. You can keep my ghosts. They will keep you warm in the winter and rebirth in the spring like the Virgin Mary in reverse. When you know- you know- and you won't have to rehearse.

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Michael L. Martin

Born in Michigan, raised in New Hampshire, and residing in Arizona. 2007 Graduate of the University of Arizona (English and Creative Writing). 2001 and 2005 Hearst Prize for Poetry Winner. Brand new Dad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.