Poets logo

Self-Sabotage

It’s an eclipse of one’s true identity

By Grz ColmPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2023
67
Self-Sabotage
Photo by Justin Dickey on Unsplash

Quick Note: As I was writing this I started thinking how preachy it might sound, but ultimately it’s really a message to me and whomever else might be listening. I’d been thinking of self-sabotage a lot the last week in many areas of my life..and came to a few realisations about why I do some things in the way that I do.. i.e operating out of fear rather than confidence etc and thus not attracting many good things because I don’t feel good enough. I think, for some, this is an unfortunate common thread in today’s society and greatly ties in with our true identities versus our perceived shortcomings which lead us to think of ourselves falsely.

So, a couple of weeks ago someone looked me in the eyes and said “YOU DESERVE EVERYTHING!” which was hard to hear, but powerful. And thus this little free verse below was born. A few mixed metaphors abound in the piece, but Whatcha Gonna Do?

I also couldn’t help thinking about ‘The Sunscreen Song’ from the 90s after reading through this a few times while editing. Obviously not at all of that calibre, but I use to love that iconic song/monologue, so I’ve included it below for those that remember it, or may need a mood boost. If you have never heard it before - stay for the vocals halfway through & towards the end. Enjoy!

Self-Sabotage

Glum, dumb & wholly insignificant!

Why do you feel so unworthy!?

Who made you feel this way?

But really, does it matter in the slightest now?

Why allow others to mould your identity?

Let those voices blow away in the breeze..

They are not your’s to hear any longer,

Just - work towards your goals,

Slowly if you must,

Remember the allegory of ‘The Tortoise and the Hare’.

Stop comparing yourself to others,

Such things are futile!

You deserve everything you have ever dreamed of:

Companionship, love, kids, a good group of friends,

Finances and - to be cared for & appreciated,

Maybe those little quirks you don’t like about yourself

Are what the best people like about you the most!

So, dial-down that switch of “I’m not good enough” -

You are!

If you feel low, time will pick you back up &

before you know it,

Hold you in its arms and tell you of its own woes,

Time doesn’t have it easy either ————

Stuck around for all time,

But at least they’re there for the good times!

If anything, lean on them,

Time will understand your trajectory!

Savour those beautiful times time allows,

Remember these fondly to pick you back up

Whenever you are feeling small.

*

Don’t let your inner saboteur take the reins,

Steering you… nowhere!

It’s your ship now,

Steer the course where you want it to go,

Make some sharp turns if you must, but

Have faith in your traits,

There’s no one exactly like you,

You are unique,

Trust in your abilities &

Watch your skills grow,

Perhaps, you might find yourself where you least expect..

*

Thank you for reading. If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and film reviews. Many thanks.

“Everybodys Free to Wear Sunscreen”:

(Unfortunately the resolution is poor, yet still good to listen to).

inspirationalperformance poetry
67

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (53)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler5 months ago

    Lovely insights which I am sure are well received, and so they deserve to be! Food for thought: the story goes that when the Buddha sought enlightenment, he walked away from a kingdom. He had a wife, concubines, a gaggle of children, every conceivable lxury, and was destined through birth to rule. In other words, he abandoned all those things which many spend their whole life working hard but failing to accrue. What does that mean? I don't have the answer, and since Buddha is now a legend and not a person I can talk to directly, I won't be able to verify any answer I might come up with, but I've been speculating a lot on this, and your meaningful poem brought it back to the fore of my mind. Thank you!

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Wowsers Grz! Thought-provoking reflections! I'd never seen or heard that song before. Seems like my era. Prolly had my eyes glued to a book. Such a good one though. The type of advice I really could've used back then, but grateful to have it and you now 😊

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    This is so emotional. I resonated with your words and the song in every way. I love how this has been written.

  • Olajide Oluwaseyin5 months ago

    Self sabotaging is as dangerous as fantasy,the antidote is stop day dreaming

  • JeRon Baker5 months ago

    “Self sabotage” has been on my mind too, but more in regards to how it’s said that people who are jealous of you will do it unknowingly; Ruining their connection with you in failed attempts to slight you or compete with you.

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Goodness I felt like someone one was pointing at me as I read this, lol. I'm so glad you shared your thoughts as I think we all wrestle with this. I know I do.

  • Andrew C McDonald5 months ago

    Listening to others instead of ourselves is an insidious thing. We all crave approval, but we can't allow the naysayers to guide us. Reach for the heights. Great message in this. Congratulations on TS.

  • KJ Aartila5 months ago

    Yep - self-sabotage is a very common, yet unique, part of the human experience - everyone needs to hear these words!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This is amazing, Grz! So nice to come back to Vocal after a few days and see this beautiful piece. Glad it got Top Story. Incredibly relatable and so truthfully spoken. Thank you and well done, again! Btw...had a look at some of your comments, will get to them asap, not ignoring you honestly :)

  • Elaine Sihera5 months ago

    A poem that hits it right on the nail about how we self-sabotage, with some encouraging words to change that mindset! Well written, and most relatable. "Don’t let your inner saboteur take the reins, Steering you… nowhere! It’s your ship now" I love that!

  • I can relate .

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Well, I have never had better advice. Here is wishing you take your own advice, I know such things are easy to say, to hear, yet in practice, not so easy to practice. I have many of these myself. It is great to read this in the early morning, wonderful start to the day, Congrats.

  • Great counsel in both poem & video.

  • Racharoonie5 months ago

    I love this. I can feel these words. Your writing is powerful, Grz.

  • I've replied to your comment below but I forgot to congratulate you so I'm back again but too lazy to scroll all the way down so I'm just gonna say it here. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Congratulations on top story!🎉🎉🎉 Many important things in your story and in the video😊💕

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    I love this! Really needed to hear it, now just need to think it. Congrats on top story!

  • Penelope Jane5 months ago

    Never heard the sunscreen song before, so thank you for sharing!

  • Matthew Fromm5 months ago

    Back to say congrats on top story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Grz I am sad to admit how relatable this and but also love the way you turned it around and made it motivational, uplighting and heartfelt! I needed this today, thank you!! Also congrats on Top Story!! 💚

  • Xine Segalas5 months ago

    Congrats on the top story! You are the captain of your ship - so steer away and enjoy the journey.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    It’s your ship now That says it all, this a great line Congratulations

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Congrats on top story, friend! Also forgot to mention how much I love the sunscreen song. I remember it from around the time I graduated high school!

  • TRENCH KID5 months ago

    They ya go.congrats on the ts.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.