Poets logo

Seeker

a poem

By Merrie SandersPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
26
Seeker
Photo by Matthew Ansley on Unsplash

I've sought approval

that I've never found.

Wasted so much time,

digging my heels in the ground.

Sure that if only I had validation,

with ease I'd fly on that praise, admiration.

If only, I'd think,

this all would be better.

Open and honest,

your pain left unfettered.

If only you'd've told me

I was worthwhile

even without clawing

that long extra mile.

That I don't have to

win gold or prizes of kings.

That I don't need rubies

or unbreakable rings.

That I, as I am, am exactly enough.

But your insides like your out,

wind broken and rough.

When my heart broke

from you or the rest,

where were you

as I ached in my chest?

When it burned and scalded

as I fought for my breath?

Hoping for that good word,

but always left wanting.

Thinking of that pain now,

overwhelming and daunting.

To think of little me,

alone in her room.

The quiet and dark,

rivaling a tomb.

Don't be too loud.

Don't be too big.

There's too much going on

for you to stand out.

Stay the course, little Mare,

as you steer the ship south.

...

Now to be grown and judged

by my own choices and wins.

Not by those of before me,

on their faults and their sins.

To see myself now and think,

"Hey, look at you go,"

can mean the whole world

as I grow up and glow.

I like this tattoo kissing my skin--

its blooms a reminder of

the places I've been.

The versions I've been,

who I am,

who I was.

Never too old to call it quits.

Leave those doubts behind,

that I'm a blunder or blip.

I know that heartbreak

guided your ways,

but I have given you grace after grace.

I needed something that I never got.

I sought

and

I sought

and

I sought.

...

But I never found it,

and now I will seek no more.

Mental HealthFree Verse
26

About the Creator

Merrie Sanders

Writing for fun and as an escape from the everyday. After all, what is life for if not to create?

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah shomorin 17 days ago

    Please can u read mine too

  • Sarah shomorin 17 days ago

    Nice story

  • Kendall Defoe 23 days ago

    Sad and real. A well-deserved Top Story!

  • Phill Jones24 days ago

    Awesome Poetry and It's sad too. Plz check https://picsartapk.net/

  • Andrea Corwin 26 days ago

    Oh this is heartbreaking. I wish you had gotten praise. I praise you now for moving on and no longer seeking acceptance. You are your own acceptance!! Congrats on TS.💓

  • Forspiya27 days ago

    People nowadays are really stressed so this is all for you https://vocal.media/poets/wings-of-resilience-a-journey-through-adversity

  • esther hope27 days ago

    Well deserved, congrats 🎉

  • 789club27 days ago

    Khi tham gia Sicbo, bạn không chỉ được trải nghiệm cảm giác hồi hộp, gay cấn khi chờ đợi kết quả mỗi ván cược mà còn có cơ hội rinh về những khoản tiền thưởng vô cùng giá trị. Chi tiết: https://789cluba.wpcomstaging.com/sicbo-789club/

  • ROCK 27 days ago

    Newly subscribed! Congratulations on your top story which led me to discovering your creations!

  • Cyrus27 days ago

    Congrats!

  • Patrick M. Ohana27 days ago

    What a piece of poetry! I read it out loud as all poetry should, so even the walls could have the chance to shake. Congrats, Ms Sanders : )

  • Anna 28 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Margaret Brennan28 days ago

    congratulations on TS. this really makes us looked deep in our souls to see if maybe we're the ones who are doing the ignoring. very well done.

  • Christy Munson28 days ago

    Congratulations on top story!

  • angela hepworth28 days ago

    Merrie, you have raw talent for writing poetry. You have such a way with words and your work flows so nicely. Beautiful work here!

  • Ameer Bibi28 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉🎉 on top story Your passion is contagious. Keep pursuing your dreams with unwavering dedication.

  • Matthew Fromm28 days ago

    Excellently raw, congrats on the top story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.