Poets logo

My One

A note to my sweetheart.

By Merrie SandersPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
3
My One
Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

A note to my sweetheart,

My love and best friend,

My home and my haven from now ‘til the end,

I wanted to take this moment to say,

That even through those nights of unwavering gray,

for all that we’ve been through, and all the rest that’s ahead,

there’s nothing I want more than to be the blue to your red.

You make me impossibly big when once I felt small.

Not just another, but somehow queen of it all.

Every dream that I’ve had, you’ve been there to share it.

When I needed a good word, your voice boomed and blared it.

When I was afraid that I was walking some sort of plank,

You held my hand and lifted me up when I sank.

Lost in the herd like some lowly white sheep,

You promised me more, something sacred to keep.

When I wanted to hibernate 'til the world got better,

You forced me to move and work through it together.

And together we’ve been through the bleakest of weather.

We’ve watched this life happen, for worse and for better.

I’ve watched you grow and shine, each year somehow brighter.

Tenacious, inspired, my rock, and my fighter.

The harder you've worked, the more you’ve achieved.

Only to grow bigger, new dreams up each sleeve.

So grand and proud, but not unjustifiably so,

You’re the frame on the door, the yes to my no.

The gale on the sea that moves forward my sail.

To compare, they could try, but always will fail.

A hand-pressed flower in the page of a book,

Forever preserved, never to be mistook.

My favorite memories all starring you,

We’ve got the best club, exclusive and true.

I’m proud of you, and all that you’ve done.

And I want you to know,

you are always My One.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Merrie Sanders

Writing for fun and as an escape from the everyday. After all, what is life for if not to create?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Phill Jones24 days ago

    Very well written, This is beautiful piece of work. Please check: https://cxfileexplorerapk.net/

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    How lovely!

  • Awww, this was so sweet and lovely! I especially loved this line, "there’s nothing I want more than to be the blue to your red."

  • Sean Sanders2 months ago

    A beautiful piece of work, with amazing structure, and a vulnerable approach. Hits home

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.