Poets logo

Seeing Red

For Chloe Rose Violet's October Challenge

By Dana CrandellPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
16
Seeing Red
Photo by Grant McCurdy on Unsplash

A cerise band in the eastern sky

Appears, then fades away,

Giving way to the rose gold blush

Of a crisp, new autumn day.

~

Maples glow crimson in the dawn,

Their wine-stained leaves alight.

Vermilion peonies turn their heads

To bathe in the warm, new light.

~

In all I see, the world awakes

Rubicund, brilliant, flushed.

Field and flower, bird and barn

Touched by the light, have blushed.

~

The moment passes all too soon,

A gift that cannot stay,

But come the evening, scarlet skies

Will announce the close of day.

***

Author's Note: This was written for Chloe's October Challenge, using Propmpt #6, "A poem using the color red."

There's still plenty of time to get in on this one:

nature poetry
16

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Beautiful! funnily enough I did two pieces about red for Poppy's colours writing prompt! loved this!

  • Beautiful descriptions. Just one question. Do you really have vermillion peonies in autumn? All of ours bloom in the spring, giving way to deep green foliage through the summer which simply fades & turns brown in the fall.

  • Wow, great piece♥️📝💯✌️

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Cerise, vermillion, rubicund...I am learning so many more words for red today. This is a gorgeous poem, Dana. As always, you stun me with your rhyme and verse. You have caught all the feelings of autumn in just four stanzas -- a feat I didn't think was possible. I love this.

  • A gift that cannot stay. That line was so profound! I loved your poem so much!

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    There's just something about that color, isn't there?

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    There's something really classical s out this, I can't quite place who I hear echoes of, maybe Emily Brontë or something. I'm not sure. Regardless, something solid and lasting, a real pleasure to read.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    🤯 your nature poetry is so insanely breathtaking! This is a new favorite! Wonderful job, my friend!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    I love when the leaves change! vibrant green to glowing red, glittering like fire on the maple tree my dad and I planted when I was a wee lad. you carry the love of the season so welL!

  • Linda Rivenbark8 months ago

    I can see the radiant, red leaves and the stunning sunset in your words. Beautiful!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is just gorgeous. Well done.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Beautiful poem!

  • Ruth Stewart8 months ago

    Such a joyful poem! Lovely. 😊💙👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.