Poets logo

Scared Stiff

#notgonnaapologize

By Heather HublerPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
15
Created with NightCafeStudio

That old harvest moon

hung full in the sky,

or was that Old Turner's ass

swinging round in the rye?

What the hell did I witness?

Where's the bleach for my eyes?

Is this the end of the world

where everyone dies?

What was he up to with old Mrs. Slaughter?

Couldn't be what I was doing

with the police chief's daughter.

How did his leg end up on that rail on the fence?

I want to die.

I want to scream.

I want this day in past tense!

There is much too much

sagging and swinging in the breeze,

stuff all stretched out and down to the knees.

I swear I'll never drink again,

no more moonshine or swill,

no more bonfires or sneaking

around with sweet MaryLou Hill.

Oh lord, he can't catch me,

I can't look at his face.

I need to run fast through the fields,

forget this damn place

where brief heaven was found

between MaryLou's thighs,

swiftly followed by hell

as I heard the old man's cries.

I swear it'll be nothing but

the straight and narrow for me now,

gone with carousing

only school and work will be allowed.

I'll move to the city,

no more farm life and cows,

no more seeding,

and threshing,

and using the plow.

I'll never–

Wait, what's that horrible noise that I hear?

A shrill beeping of sorts,

it's gratingly loud, the sound is so clear.

Make it stop! Please, I beg!

Oh, it's just the alarm.

This was only a dream

but it sure did look like the farm...

Uh, there was a moon in the sky,

and a whole lot of running,

and a weird sensation,

and something and something?

Oh well, guess I'll just get

on my phone for a few,

check the score of the game,

text sweet MaryLou too.

Looks like I did that already,

and sent a few pics.

Is that what I think it is?

I'm gonna be sick...

I'm never drinking again,

I've been scared stiff.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading?

Uh...(shrugs shoulders and smirks a little) so this one started from me seeing a picture of all the full moons set for 2024, and I laughed to myself that they were forgetting a few. Whatever, I never claimed to mature. And this crazy thing just popped out, lol. Hope you got a laugh!

P.S. Please don't send me pictures of any 'moons' you happen to capture...hahahaha!!!

nature poetryhumorFor Fun
15

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey3 months ago

    I've had a horrible day but this actually made me smile. Thanks

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Entertaining poem & read!@@ Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Were they dick pics by any chance? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem!

  • Though if you were drinking that heavily, what is the likelihood that you'd also be scared "stiff"? (Sorry, just had to go there.) So it's no longer the man in the moon but the old man on the other side of the moon about whom we should worry? (In your dreams, you say? That's what I thought.)

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Hahaha, oh my goodness this gave me a chuckle! Nicely done!

  • Aaliyah Madison3 months ago

    Well written!

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    Good laugh for my day!

  • What a hoot!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Oh this was fun! 😁

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Bahahaha. You're lucky we can't reply with pics. God knows how many Creator moons you'd get.

  • Test3 months ago

    Very powerful beautiful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.