Poets logo

Scarecrows

Find a better way

By Richard TurnerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I was a warrior at the window

Cursing those guarded gates

The walls were bare and the

Doors were locked and the rain

Kept a steady pace

Now the days they ran together

And the weeks ran into months

I was wondering where I was wondering when

I’d ever see my baby again

Darling these days they’ll soon be over

You’ve been waiting just for me to come home

First snow of the season

One early December morning

I hear a young girl singing in the subway

She’s a singing that amazing grace

I watch the storm clouds roll above station bridge

As that dirty diesel train comes a rumbling in

And you’ll be waiting by the window

As I’m walking up the street

Tapping impatient fingers

Though you know I’m not even late

We’re like two scarecrows taking to the breeze

Two scarecrows together in a dream

Two scarecrows trying find a better way

Out of here

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.