Poets logo

Say Cheese

Simplicity: Vol 1 - 6 When it could all be so simple... A poetry collection of what was realized all along, but never understood until now.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Say Cheese
Photo by Gidon Wessner on Unsplash

6 Say Cheese

Where does the time go

Racing from you, as fast as the blood in my veins flow

It's time to grow; marriage, a family, but I say no

I'm just not ready so don't try to pressure me

Say cheese, we pose for the photo

I guess this is how life will always be

You don't like change, is what you shout at me

Why can't you be nice to me

I can't take another bad day

Or sad day

Acting like it's all the same way

You dropped the ball like a heavy rock

I thought we wanted the same things in life but I guess not

In and out of love I fall nothing between us besides a wall

One that you built and I put up when you decided without me that it should no longer be just us

Memories, pictures, bleaker days get nearer

No way to stop the black and white

We put the gloves down without batting an eye jumped out the ring in a tie

We're both losers who gave up without a fight

I won't lie, I did try but it wasn't enough

Streaming tears I wipe from my eyes

Say cheese, another sad memory

Begging on my knees won't bring the old you back to me

Knowing that, I still plead

We're no good for each other but I wanted you next to me

My heavy heart it bleeds as I sit in empty company

The clock ticks every second letting me know just how much time I've been wasting

Waiting on you

To get it together and tell me the truth

Isn't there anything I can do to influence you

Your mind is busy, your heart's upset

The pain you've caused, I could never forgive

Pain subsides as memory forgets

True loves kiss another fairytale miss

Dancing on top of planetary rocks

Wishing days like these never stopped

Dragging your fingers across my hand

Our hands intertwine as we spin

Spin across the open dance floor

Your body close to mine, my face you adore

How could such a night come to be

Weeks ago we didn't even speak

Now you're only inches away from me

Bodies so close I can almost hear your heart beat

A crushed rose springs back to life

Two lovers rekindling their old light

Dancing in front for the whole world to see

Love is a bond, chemistry

My red dress hugs my curves whilst you send butterflies through my nerves

Are you ready to be all that I deserve

I'm just a simple girl who knows her worth

Or after this dance will you leave again

Disappear, leaving me all on my own

The risk becomes evidently clear

There's no way I could fall again only to be knocked down and broken everywhere

I snatch away quicker than you'd expect, backed away and grabbed the hem of my red dress

Before I got to step

You grabbed my hand and pulled me close

You told me there was something I should know

A velvet box with your knee to the floor

My eyes welled up as I thought any moment now you'll call your bluff

I told you before this could never be

But instead you didn't get up, you said you'll always love me

It wasn't enough or maybe it was but you weren't the one

Will you marry me?

In the end I had to let go,

Perfectly imperfect, love takes time to grow

Picture a man trying to fly with a broken wing now picture his woman powerless to do a thing

That was him and the woman was me

A guy held up his camera and said, Say cheese

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.