Poets logo

Savour the Dawn

A poem for the Perfect Challenge by Jazzy Goncalves

By Rachel DeemingPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
16
Savour the Dawn
Photo by Elias Vidal on Unsplash

The Challenge is as follows;

Write a poem about the perfect day, or morning or evening, or perfect whatever.

Include your senses, such as sight, smell, and taste.

Use words that describe the scene so we can experience the day as you would want to experience it.

The link below is to Jazzy's original post and other entries below. Which one is your favourite?

I am by the sea.

I hear it, in the distance.

Its relentless, unending surge.

I taste the day, as I yawn.

Sweet with sunshine, lighting the gap and

Breaking the shield of night's curtains.

I feel its warmth, it coaxes a slick sheen of sweat,

As it focuses on waking me.

It stirs me.

It is time.

Its flavour has beguiled me,

The prospect of light and play

In sand and surf

A call for action.

I am eager for the salt

On my skin.

I want my legs to feel the moon's pull,

The drag and the sudden push,

The anticipation of the crash,

The unexpected muffling of the underwater world,

As I fall below.

But first, fuel.

To eat the fresh pastries,

Golden too, like the day,

Tender and buttery from the oven warm.

Smothered with rich fruit stickiness

And savoured for their decadence,

Washed down with hot tea.

Holiday food, treats from foreign culture.

They melt away

Deliciously

On my tongue

Warming my hungry tum

Sating my need for strength.

I will need their energy

To compete with Nature's power.

Sea is my happy place, always. I am drawn to it. I wrote this based on a morning where we stayed by the beach, and the weather was good and the surf was up, and we ate croissants for breakfast. My family were there too, my loved ones but I've chosen to concentrate on the experience for me. I love the earliness of days, the dawns, the fresh starts.

I've enjoyed reliving this memory. Thanks for the challenge, Jazzy!

love poemsnature poetryinspirational
16

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    This was so beautifully written, I feel like I was right there with you Rachel! Thank you for sharing your happy place with us and bringing it to us to experience! Great work!

  • SPOTLESS8 months ago

    Nice

  • JBaz8 months ago

    I live by the ocean and can fully relate. There is a hidden deeper beauty about the water than just standing there looking at it.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    This felt so alive and invigorating. Well done!!!

  • The sea is my happy place too! Beautiful poem!

  • Lovely words perfect for the challenge

  • Lightning Bolt8 months ago

    ♥️♥️ Love it! ⚡

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    Speaking as someone who lives in Savannah, I share your love of the sea, and this poem is aMAZing!!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous memory!!! Vicariously savored the dawn!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This brought me back to the sea! I love the ocean, and I'm so drawn to it ❤️

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Beautiful piece. There's a relaxing calm in your words. Well done.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Night’s curtains!! How have I never thought of this fitting metaphor. 😁 Lovely writing and I love the ocean and beach too. Croissants surely do not hurt. Great job Rachel. 😊☀️🌊

  • I enjoyed this ocean journey Rachel ❤️🕊️✨

  • Andrei Z.8 months ago

    This is very nicely penned! "Holiday food, treats from foreign culture. / They melt away / Deliciously /On my tongue" - now these lines made me think of baklava :)

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.