Poets logo

s m o o t h

science of sensory perceptions | a love story

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
14
s m o o t h
Photo by Matthew Ball on Unsplash

s o f t

impulses

spark

~

s t r e a m s

of

stimulus

e n c o d i n g

~

plush

satiny

s u r f a c e

~

sensory

receptors

e x p l o d i n g

~

papillary

ridges

~

g r a z e

a

textureless

p l a n e

~

igniting

neuron

t r a n s m i s s i o n s

~

intercepted

by the

b r a i n

~

smooth

consistency

d e t e c t e d

~

arousing

cerebral

b l i s s

~

sparks

of

s i l k e n

rapture

~

tracing

f i n g e r t i p s

~

visceral

euphoria

~

w r a p p e d

in

sericeous

d e l i g h t

~

velvety

intoxication

~

t a c t i l e

pleasures

ignite

*********************************************************************

A little poetic neuroscience of our physical and emotional reactions when we touch a smooth object.

My love story series is based on my enamorment with the way things work/happen in nature— plants, animals, us, and the cosmos. While we just live, all of these intricate and magical details are constantly occuring—either contributing to existence or just for our enjoyment in this experience of life...in my opinion, both.

**********************************************************************

Did a little extra digging for this one. Read more about the science of touch here:

If you'd like to read more from my love stories series, here are a few:

nature poetrylove poems
14

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer5 months ago

    I thought you paired the picture with the writing well. Your use of vocabulary is breathtaking.

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    I like this form of education 😉😍

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Brilliantly & beautifully written!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    FFS. I give up, pal! Honestly. This is special...as ever and I feel pretty amateur next to it lol! I love, how others have said, how you mix beautiful descriptions, stunning brevity and science into something so wonderful to read. If you ever record anything...please record Freefall and this one. I mean, any would do, but I imagine those would be particularly special. You are making it hard for me to pick a favourite Balyeat piece. Well done on this and if it's not Top Story at some point, I'll post an acrostic about how much it should be! :P

  • Only you can write something so educational in the most gorgeous way! Like this was so beautiful and informative! I loved it so much!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I remember you saying you were a neuroscience Nerd. Yep, you are. A damn good one. Brilliant job, my friend.

  • Ah, what a single sense can inspire, both for good & for ill, be it sight, sound, taste, smell, or touch. Beautifully & viscerally described here, Kristen.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    I effing love science! If it was taught like this, so would everyone else. Amazing poem, Kristen!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.