Poets logo

Running as the Beast

Will he save the woman in white?

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
Image from Pexels

Running through a city in the dead of night

Running to help a woman dressed only in white

Running in a way that’s only possible in dreams

As the laws of physics don’t apply here it seems

-

Running along rain-soaked streets at midnight

Running to reach that terrified woman in sight

Running along alleys and leaping over rooftops

My thundering heart races, as she never stops

-

Running from something big and deadly she is

Running through this endless twilight abyss

Running from what though, I still cannot tell

Whatever it is, though, wants to drag her to hell

-

Running she continues, at such a breakneck speed

Running frantically behind her, gaining on her lead

Running after her is what though, I can’t see clearly

We can’t stop now, though we’re both feeling weary

-

Running and nearing her, the end is finally in sight

Running to reach that woman, dressed only in white

Running slower as I catch her, she starts to scream

I'm more animal than human in this twisted dream

-

Running after her, was no other monster or beast

Running after her, was me, for a tasty fleshy feast

Running to save her, I was not, I'm shocked to say

I woke up abruptly, realising she was my prey

-

The above poem is an entry into the Full Moon Challenge and was inspired by a dream I had when I was a child. I am not sure what age I was, but my best guess was early teens. It always struck me that rather than it being the cliched "chased by a monster" scary dream (I have had those too), it was even more terrifying that I was actually the monster chasing someone else.

Thank you for taking the time to read this poem. If you liked it, I would appreciate if you subscribed, gave me a tip, hearted it or simply left a comment.

You may also enjoy some of my other poems like:

Something a bit saucy

Or something a bit silly:

Alternatively, you can find the rest of my work here.

fact or fictionsurreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Dreams are so powerful. And this WAS POWERFUL

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I do ot know what is was but something drew me in and did not let go until the end.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    What a crazy dream! That was definitely different than the normal chase sequence. And I liked how you subtly built suspense. Nicely done!!

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    Hey Paul- I very much appreciate an effort to create a form poem with repetition and rhyme. It is a difficult task and an ambitious one. Ne'er-do-wells scoff at rhyming poetry, thinking it below their imagined laureate standards - "fools rush in...." I loved the flavour and build of this piece.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wow, I love this, Paul! I definitely felt the suspense and mystery of the chase. I really loved this line, “I'm more animal than human in this twisted dream”. I enjoyed the progression of the story and your rhymes!

  • Jess Boyesabout a year ago

    You really captured the intensity of the dream. Really well written, it was great 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.