Poets logo

The Existential Crisis Extramarital Affair or That Time I Was Richard Gere!

A Poem Inspired By Real Events In Dreamland

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 2 min read
7
Image made by me using Craiyon

Waking up topless, my vision is bleary

Feeling both tired and rather weary

I'm lying on top of a soft hotel bed

When I should be asleep at home instead

Ignoring that something is not quite right

I go to the ensuite and switch on the light

Turn on the tap, splash my face with water

The air has got thick and the temperature hotter

As I look in the mirror, I'm so shocked to see

Mr Richard Gere, staring right back at me

We’re talking sexy, Pretty Woman Mr Gere

Not older and greyer, Arbitrage Mr Gere

I almost say “Oh Boy” like I'm in Quantum Leap

Before heading to bed, clearly, I need more sleep

I need to clear my head and figure this out

What’s going on here, what’s this all about?

As I sit and lay back on the big hotel bed

Thoughts are racing through my troubled head

Confusion grips at me, I just can't be Richard Gere

I've never watched, let alone starred in Primal Fear

I turn in the bed, see a woman next to me

Her face is a blur, she's another mystery

Can’t deal with that now, I look at the ceiling

Things don’t make sense, so again I’m feeling

Something's afoot here, it's not normal or right

I then hear cameras and see a flash of light

As a large word in bold appears above my head

Floating, its colour changes from black to red

A man then shouts “Cut” and it becomes clear

I’m filming a steamy trailer as Richard Gere.

-

Along with my first entry for the Full Moon Challenge, Gillian Anderson And I, I noted that I would be writing another poem inspired by a dream involving an actor.

So, yes, I did actually dream that I was Richard Gere filming a scene before the movie title appeared above me like it was the trailer...

The word that appeared above my head like the title of the movie was either Unfaithful (which is actually a Richard Gere film) or Infidelity. Unfortunately, I can't remember that detail.

Thanks for taking the time to read my crazy dream poem.

If you enjoyed it, you may like the aforementioned Gillian Anderson-featuring dream or this recent creation:

If you like those and want to read more, you can find my other work here.

I would also encourage you to subscribe, so you can be kept up to date with future published works. I am currently committing to a post a day (either submitted or published) during January and potentially the rest of the year.

Thanks again!

fact or fictionsurreal poetrycelebrities
7

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    What a wild ride! I love all the movie references here, and your narrative is so enthralling. Did you write more of these dream poems? I'm all in. I feel you must have an unconscious fear of being seen. Both of your dreams focus on either being filmed (and feeling anxious by not being yourself) or avoiding the paparazzi. What up with that? Lol.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love that you made the distinction of 'which' Richard Gere you were...hahahaha! I loved all the title throw-ins and the Quantum Leap reference!! This was a delight to read!!

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Gave me a smile. I love that you turned a dream into a story.

  • Megabout a year ago

    Great work! Definitely gave me a chuckle

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    I loved this so much, and it made me chuckle! I have subscribed.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Hahaha. Wow, what a dream. Love the picture

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.