Poets logo

Rougarou In Disguise

Surprise!

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7
Rougarou In Disguise
Photo by Velizar Ivanov on Unsplash

*

I have monsters in my closet

some that hide beneath my bed

I've drawn a rough composite

of how they look inside my head

I've spent many restless nights

trying my best to just ignore them

But when I'm snugly tucked in tight

is when they begin their mayhem

I've pleaded and I've begged

but nothing will deter them

I feel them tugging at my leg

mumbling the verbiage "red-rum"

I've decided to stay sane

I'll try harder to befriend them

Play along with scary games

and offered them some breadcrumbs

At first, they were confused

standing silent in the corner

Wary of being rused

by a not-for-profit suborner

But soon I'd won their favor

every night they come for dinner

Another treat a different flavor

later and longer, they would linger

At long last I'd earned their trust

tonight, I'll catch them in my trap

One I've lined with pure stardust

for monsters works a lot like shrink-wrap

Teaching them a lesson

that should have been plain to see

That I am the real monster

and now they're fearing me

I used to hide under the clothes or

creep up underneath the beds

But I've found it's best being a poser

and let them come to me instead

fact or fictionFor Fun
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    I like the strength portrayed on this one. Well done.

  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    Another way of working through issues and problems we may have.

  • Wow, what a great twist that YOU are the real monster with a plan to capture them! I love that. The poem reads so easy like a children's book, too. The rhyme and meter are fun, and the story is beyond great! Nicely done, Kelli!

  • My approach to midnight monsters except that I just enjoy befriending them, playing together & waiting to see what they do. Love this. To quote the drama instructor from "Friends": "A Desdemona who fights back!"

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.