Poets logo

Pity

What A Shame

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Pity
Photo by Aleksandr Kadykov on Unsplash

Pity

when you're pretty

all the shit

you miss out on

Doors are open

never hopin

if the money

is all gone

Never feelin

double dealin

just to make

another buck

What to do

or where to go

when you've done

run out of luck

There's a sense

of recompense

when your past-tense

is broke as fuck

Who to call

to build the wall

to lean your

character against

Just one time

I'd like to try

jumping

this

God forsaken

fence

Not sure the

method to

the madness

led me to

this

happenstance

But here I

stand

pride in my hand

at my

command

begin again

to chase the

buck

to get unstuck

from

this place

I've

found me in

For Fun

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    "I'd like to try jumping this God forsaken fence". That was my favourite line! Loved your poem!

  • Hayley Matto4 months ago

    Such a bouncy rhyme to this piece! So fun!

  • May you find yourself unstuck soon & blessedly forevermore, my friend.

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Great use of rhythm and language. Well done!

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    This is great! Nicely written, Kelli.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I love the rhythm of this poem and it's bluntness

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Great poem!!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Nicely done! That pic though. Lol

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.