Poets logo

Retreats Can Be The Greatest

Okay, well sometimes it is just good to make it through to the end! This is all we can do, and it was the very best!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago β€’ 2 min read
4
Retreats Can Be The Greatest
Photo by Levi Guzman on Unsplash

Is it fair to say this will be great when it is a trauma, grief, and loss retreat?

How about if we promise that there will be plenty of fun and many a treat?

We have great comfort food at every meal, along with the very best dessert.

We will start the day off with yoga. Our leader will be someone who is having trouble with breathing and just won't assert.

****

I said I can do it. I will find out who has some yoga to share with the troop.

Then I said, we will do a little of my favorite exercises ever! And end with laughter yoga for the group!

We had laughter yoga all the way through! Those who thought they weren't interested in yoga missed out.

Then again, "Who wants to get up at 7:00 a.m. to practice yoga!" Someone let out a shout!

****

We had a questionnaire to fill out, about what was going on and they self-rated the emotions on a scale of one to ten.

We offered individual time with a couple of old timers that have counseled a lot! For privacy, we could go into the den.

We shared about trauma, grief, and loss. We had handouts and stories. We talked about all the things that help us to heal.

Tears and laughter, genograms, sculpting, art, talk, hugs, games, letting go. We had plenty of opportunities to laugh and cry. We also had reminders to breathe and feel!

****

Who goes to this kind of retreat? I wanted to know. Looking at the genograms made me sad.

It was people that had cancer, abuse, alcoholism, addiction, adoption Alzheimer's and so much more. Some made me mad!

Anyone could come to a retreat like this. All people experience loss.

We will all have losses in this game called life, and loss is all a ball toss!

****

Can I make it through? I have a doctor's appointment the day after.

Yes, I will make it through. I will make it through with laughter!

I told my husband to remind me that I am not doing that again.

So much planning and work go into something like this and it is no bargain!

****

We gave and received love each day

We started on Sunday and went home on Wednesday

There was a lot to haul and unload, set up was a job

We were thankful for Lindsey, Hubby, Sue, and Bob!

****

We all made it through to the very end!

We were sent home with lots of goodies to tend!

Some had a little art they spent time on. They used art to heal their mind!

Many healed with a whole lot of laughter and tears that they left behind!

****

love poemssad poetry
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    That was lovely, DeniseπŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.