Poets logo

We Are Close To Snow, I Can Feel It In My Bones!

Here I sit in my jacket, and it feels good and I don't wish to take it off ever!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
5
We Are Close To Snow, I Can Feel It In My Bones!
Photo by Neil Bates on Unsplash

The leaves have died on the branches of the trees.

It was not so cold out there, between 40 and 50 degrees.

I wasn't expecting rain but it rained today.

I'm looking forward to the weekend, as it is Thursday.

****

No big plans for this coming weekend.

A memorial for the death of a friend.

I wasn't ready for her to go,

Are we ever really, I say no.

****

Friday I prepare to talk about trauma, grief, and loss.

When talking about loss, I sometimes feel a bit cross.

The talk is for a retreat this coming Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday

It doesn't seem like enough time to some, but I have been talking about this for many years and I have days to prepare as it is only Thursday.

****

What a subject when I will have just attended a memorial.

The memorial is for someone considered my sponsorial.

She helped me in figuring out problems that come up in life.

Kind of like when the hubby asks his wife.

****

The retreat business owner said, "Let's just tell stories. It is easier that way."

You talk about your mother, sister, and brother's death and say

all that you need to in that way. It will be easier than having a PowerPoint.

She said, "We can both just speak from the heart. And each make a big point."

****

I like this point - Death is not easy, and we will get through. We have so much grief as we had so much love.

We can do this I know we can. I told her I am okay with whatever she wants to do, just know that some may have trouble with the above. (she put it in an email.)

Maybe the snow is not the only thing that I am feeling in my bones.

Or why I am feeling like I want the comfort of a favorite coat I own.

****

Maybe I need to go and cuddle with the hubby now.

Makes sense to me and anyhow,

It is so important to take good selfcare,

every time of the year you hear?

****

Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer!

No such thing as a season that is a bummer!

nature poetrysad poetrylove poems
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howe2 years ago

    Great format. My condolences on your loss.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Lovely piece. Sorry for the loss of your friend.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    ❅Interesting how this is somewhat all over the place, but you tired it all together, too. I like how it causes me to pause and consider. ❄️

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Left some love💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.