Poets logo

Resolution Resolved

A new approach

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
https://pixabay.com/users/publicdomainpictures-14/

Perhaps this year I'll keep to three

Resolutions

Ways to work on me.

.

I ALWAYS choose to reduce my weight

improve myself

So I'll pick that for the nth year straight.

.

Hmm- when you keep to just three

Resolutions

You find that prioritizing is key.

.

Maybe this year I'll into it back

myself

And find a new approach to attack.

.

Instead of listing how I'll do

Resolutions

I'll first determine my point of view.

.

Before I choose how I'll improve

myself

The things that rip me up I must remove.

.

So, then, it's clear that to succeed my other

Resolutions

Must be to shine a light and not to smother.

.

So next: to identify what causes me to trip

myself

Then unfasten, with compassion, myself from its grip.

.

By the time I unravel those and make clear

Resolutions

Perhaps just that one is enough to which I'll persevere.

.

This year: instead of setting a list at the beginning of the year, ways that I lack, lists of my-not-enough; I'm going to take the time to understand why I haven't done all of those things in life so far.

Change happens when the pain of not changing is bigger than the pain of the change. Why do I hold on to things that I don't believe I should?

I've started down the road of understanding the impact of generational and personal trauma. And this is what I am taking into 2024:

Trauma changes a person.

So does healing.

Your comments are always welcomed!

Mental HealthinspirationalGratitude

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Blessed New Year to you & yours, Judey. May your journey through 2024 yield abundant good fruit.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I think that's great. Rather than just throwing out resolutions, take time think about what really needs to change and why. Happy new year.

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    This is so powerful. Loved your poem! Sending hugs and loads of love you way! ❤❤

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Love this Judey, you are very inspirational with your approach to writing and self-improvement. I hope 2024 brings you a lot of healing and more joy! And also challenge wins, top stories, comments by me, obviously lol and good stuff. But, that all aside, I loved the way you took apart the concept of resolutions and particularly when they don't work because you don't fix the problem that underlines everything. Loved your sign off especially. Anyway, mumblation over. Well done on this and like Mike, I agree this will likely be a Top Story (I also have the secret touch, like Mike, for calling it too) So, I shall be back Ms Kalchik! :)

  • A good may to note down your resolutions and a probable Top Story Judey

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Like the cover picture, chain to our past and it drags us down

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Inspirational resolutions for the New Year . They say there is power in three . 🥰

  • This was sooooo powerful! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️ Wishing you a veryyyyy Happy New Year and may only good things come your way! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Lilly Cooper6 months ago

    I think you are taking a healthier approach to the new year :) if the same thing has not worked for the past, maybe a change will achieve the goal :) best of luck with your journey ❤️

  • This is so interesting, with it's back and forth rhyming about how to tackle New Years' Resolutions!

  • Trauma does change a person . Loved your story

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Awesome!!! It's true that's why I love your lines, "Trauma changes a person. So does healing. ❤️❤️💕

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.