Poets logo

Overheard

Poetry of Our Every-days

By Judey Kalchik Published 4 months ago 1 min read
16
https://pixabay.com/users/ezequiasphotography-2875489/

Conversations with those around us

e b b and flow

These words shape our every-days.

~

Overheard in the breakroom:

'Is that a turkey salad sandwich?'

'Yes, I was trying to avoid the left-overs,

but I can't quit cold turkey...'

Holiday schedules make this hilarious.

~

Overheard in the checkout line:

"I've worked the past six days in a row

and don't have any clean underwear.

I was going to go without

but I just turned them inside out."

'Can you do laundry tonight?'

"Nah- now that I have a plan I can go for five more days..."

~

Overheard in the dressing room:

"I can't buy these!

If I do I'll have to shave my legs!"

"Why? It's winter in Ann Arbor.

Everyone looks like a Yeti under their jeans.

You'll fit right in!"

~Maniacal laughter without

as I cower giggling within the changing room

wondering how I missed that memo...~

~

Gramma taught me to

'be careful little ears what you hear'

and 'be careful little tongue what you say'

because you don't know who is listening.

These overheard conversations made my day.

~

Comment always welcomed: What is the best thing you overheard?

social commentaryFree VerseFor Fun
16

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Entertaining and loved it!!!

  • Hilarious Judey… I actually laughed aloud… sadly, an uncommon occurrence 🙃🤣

  • And now they've made ours. Thank you for sharing, Judey.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    There is a book in this. Too funny. Please do part 2

  • J. S. Wade4 months ago

    Hilarious Judey !! Now, about the underwear thing … The procrastinator does laundry when they’re down to the last clean pair. The ones that should have been tossed long ago. Haha

  • Omgggg these are actual conversations that you've overheard? Hahahahahaha! That underwear one made my haw drop! Ewwww, lol. I have overheard my share of conversations but I can't seem to be able to recall any now. Lol

  • Test4 months ago

    Hillarious. Might try out the underwear idea! Once overheard a 14 year old telling a primary schooler that my bed was made of books with a matress on the top so that I could reach down and read whenever I wanted. TBF i may have started that rumour. I didn't expect them to roll with it 😁

  • This is hilarious... love it! Our family shares funny anecdotes like yours, but then they get wiped from my limited memory bank, so I can't bring any to mind. 'be careful little ears what you hear' and 'be careful little tongue what you say' was a Sunday School song I used to sing... I just looked up the lyrics & eyes; hands; feet; heart & mind all get a worthy mention too. I try to live by "If you don't want the world to know, don't say it." However, I don't always succeed in putting it into practice.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.