Poets logo

The Forgetful Departure

Home Sweet Home

By emaPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
The Forgetful Departure
Photo by Liv Cashman on Unsplash

Five times I've marched towards the door,

With keys in hand, prepared to soar.

But halt! My phone's still on the stand,

I rush to grab it with a flustered hand.

Out again, I'm nearly free,

Oh no, my wallet! Can't you see?

Back I go, a little sigh,

This time I'll make it right.

Third attempt, I'm feeling bold,

But where's my coat? It's rather cold.

A quick retrieve, then off I dart,

Surely now, I'll finally depart.

Fourth leave-taking, spirits high,

I've got this, no need to be shy.

But wait, my glasses? Blurry sight,

I need them to drive into the night.

Fifth farewell, I'm at the brink,

I've got everything... or so I think.

My hat! My head shall go unadorned,

Back inside, feeling quite scorned.

At last, I stand, a weary host,

To all the items I need the most.

I laugh, resign to my cozy space,

Home sweet home, my forgetful place.

***

Thank you for reading!

humor

About the Creator

ema

I invent stories, sometimes they need to be written.

Carpe Diem Tempus Fugit.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 days ago

    Hahahahahah this was very relatable! Loved it!

  • Ameer Bibi4 days ago

    Wonderful piece of writing How beautifully and artistically you woven the things ❤

emaWritten by ema

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.