Poets logo

Puffy Eyes

"I'm tired"

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Puffy Eyes
Photo by Abbie Bernet on Unsplash

"I'm tired"

This seems to the words that my mind

Chants.

On repeat.

Lately,

It's all I can think about

Focus on.

How tired I feel

Lack of sleep

Overthinking

Overplanning

Hyper vigilant

But that doesn't make me

As tired as

The lack of love does

The lack of care

that I get in return.

Call me selfish.

Or maybe just human.

But all I want now is to go somewhere

far away, preferably

Away from the reality of life

And rest.

And yet, I can't seem to

find the time.

Even when I have nothing to do

Heh.

There's never nothing to do,

said a wise man to me once.

Will I only then

rest when I'm dead?

If so,

then please, oh God

dear, God,

take me.

For it's

the eternal slumber

I crave

More than all else.

Please.

sad poetryheartbreakFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    I feel this one very deeply. My very thoughts & words in poetic form. Why are you reading my mind, my friend?

  • Sean Elliott5 months ago

    Well written and heartbreaking, exhaustion can easily be so overwhelming. Hope you get a chance to get some rest!

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Fatigue. Fatigue from the world and living in the chaos of the world or work or nutty relationships wears people out. Hope you are okay. 🤗

  • I'm so sorry you feel this way 🥺 I hope your okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Kimmiekins45 months ago

    I love this🖤 I’ve been craving to go off somewhere for awhile… a house on the beach… a cottage in the woods… something to escape and reset!

Manisha DhalaniWritten by Manisha Dhalani

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.