Poets logo

Publications

For Heather's Unofficial Unscramble Challenge

By Dana CrandellPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
20
Publications
Photo by Andrew George on Unsplash

Sure as pigs are made of bacon

And gods love a good libation,

I risk blunt humiliation

In taking up my pen.

*

But, here on this, now spoilt, morning,

I issue a public warning

Though I face outrageous scorning

Until I know not when.

*

As I write, my lips are pitch-black

And my vision has just come back.

A burnt odor indicates the lack

Of ozone in the air.

*

My poor buns are seared together,

Manhood's missing altogether

And my scalp looks like burnt leather

With some sparse pubic hair.

*

My eyeballs are albinotic

And their brows have gone psychotic.

I'm completely cyanotic,

And my nose is but a stub,

*

I could swear while I lay sleeping,

Some strange lunatic came creeping,

And spent the entire night keeping

Time on my head with a club.

*

Like a capon for the table

I am wobbly and unstable,

Legs entirely unable

To support my sagging weight.

*

I am tailspun and bedraggled

As a horse that sped and straggled

While its rider spurred and haggled

With the devil o'er his fate.

*

Now, a sibilant voice pealing,

Through my sinciput goes reeling,

And I feel no other feeling

Than the pain within my pate.

*

So, you see, these deep plications

On my brow are indications

Of the warning declarations

That I must uncap for you.

*

When your plan of daily grooming

Begins to be time-consuming

And you're rushing while presuming

Everything is in the pink,

*

Should you drop your 'lectric trimmer,

And the bathroom light grow dimmer,

Things will get a whole lot grimmer

If you grab it from the sink.

***

A/N: Just realized that I wrote more than double the maximum word count on this, so it's not eligible. I was having so much fun I got carried away.

Thanks, Heather, for posting such a creative and fun challenge! Readers: Check it out and join in HERE:

For Funhumor
20

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer22 days ago

    Such a fun piece! I totally understand how and why you got carried away 😉

  • Lamar Wiggins26 days ago

    😅 That was fun and well worth every second. Cyanotic? never heard of such a thing. I thought you made it up until I found the meaning. And lol, on the words count. As long as you had fun, that's all that matters. Bravo, Sir!

  • Heather Hubler26 days ago

    Oh damn!!! Bahahahahaha!!!!! That was fantastic!! I should've known you'd take up the comedic mantle for this challenge. I don't even care that it's over the limit. I'm still chuckling...man do I love ya, big bro :) ~lil sis

  • She did say 150ish. Double could be considered within the "ish" range. Are we at the stage where we're considering Rogaine or Hair Club for Men?

  • D.K. Shepard30 days ago

    I was on the same wavelength as Christy so the ending was a big surprise for me too! Then everything came together! Great work, Dana!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hahahahahhahahahahaha I had so much fun reading this! I learnt so many new words today from you! In the stanza with the word "capon", what does capon actually mean? Because I Googled it and chicken was what came up and I'm a tad confused 😅

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a month ago

    Dana, this was a lot of fun!! I love the creative license you used when writing this, especially with words like 'lectric!!! Great work!! I can tell you had soooo much fun with this!! Am I a bad person for being glad you overshot the limit so I feel like I might have a chance at this challenge?? Because now I don't have to compete against you?? (It's okay to say yes!!! 😅)

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Dana, who would have ever imagined that having such a mind-muscle of a challenge would turn out to be such fun? Your poem is awesome! And the picture! I went way over in my attempt, as well, but as I wrote, it seemed to take a life of its own. Who knew??? Electrocution for you and Pirates for me.

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Your choice of Einstein successfully mislead me. Thought we were going the atomic bomb route, but I dare say the narrator might well think we did. Shocking conclusion, my good fellow. Shocking, and very well executed! ;)

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Dana, you were on a roll or perhaps a rollercoaster. Having so much fun writing, you could not stop. Fun and entertaining read!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I thought migraine....no, some terrible burning....no, hangover....and then - this was fun and funny.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    This is delightfully quirky and a bit sinister and I love it!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    This is genius! Bounced around perfectly, probably something to do with the sparse pubic hair lol

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Haha. This is great. You nailed this, you half-fried lunatic.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    OMG so funny! Good job on this😆

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Lol, well played sir. Funny, with perfect flow, awesome rhymes and just all-round brilliance. Absolutely loved it, fella! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.