Poets logo

Public Service Announcement

For Poppy's 1.2.3. Challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Public Service Announcement
Photo by Tim Goedhart on Unsplash

This is for Poppy's 1.2.3. challenge, to write a set of instructions in poem form. Details are here:

I know it’s hard, but breathe for me,

In for two, out for three,

In for three, out for four,

If you can, breath one beat more.

Feel the air draw in your nose,

Feel the ground beneath your toes,

Part your lips and blow it out,

Gently purse them, softly pout.

Now as you breathe, say in your head,

Or if you like, out loud instead,

“I am alright, though I feel manic,

This is normal, simply panic.

I thought that I was in a scrape,

And my body wants me to escape.

If I was fighting or busy flying,

I wouldn’t feel like I was dying.”

Now look around and tell to me

Five things that your eyes can see,

Four things that your ears can hear,

Can you name day, month and year?

Keep on breathing, nice and slow,

Let your brain and body know,

That though you know they do their best,

You’ve got this now, your heart can rest.

And if your thoughts keep grabbing hold,

Accept them, yes, but let’s be bold,

Think of something else instead,

List your favourite books you’ve read,

Or try some maths - your twelve times table,

Recite this poem, if you’re able!

how to

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶7 months ago

    This surely deserves Top Story… such wise instructions wittily written… “Let your mind and body know… You’ve got this now, your heart can rest.” 💚🙂

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    I loved how this poem achieved as much with its pace, rhyme and rhythm, as it did with its words. Well done 😍

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Breathe I did. Gasps of life felt within a poem. Beautiful.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    This was beautiful! It gave me cause to take a meditative moment and just fall into pace with this poem! Great work Hannah!

  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    Nice one, lets reset with happy thought. as someone who's had some mild panic attacks not long ago, I could do things like these exercises more often.

  • I'm always in a constant state of anxiety and panic. So your poem would be the perfect mantra for me! I'm so grateful you wrote this! Thank you so much! 💖

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is gorgeous Hannah. I'm going to need to reread this when I feel that relatable panic you mentioned. It's a perfect mix of calming while also validating those feelings. Thanks for taking part!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Excellent! Hope this gets a TS. Great rhythm throughout.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Beautifully written piece and a great mantra. Well done!

  • Very good Hannah. Well written and great advice. I shall breathe now!!!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is fabulous. Well done.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    I love this SO much, Hannah!! ✨🫶🏼✨

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    🖤

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    This is sooooo satisfying to read; your rhythms are on point!! Best part: “‘I am alright, though I feel manic, This is normal, simply panic. I thought that I was in a scrape, And my body wants me to escape. If I was fighting or busy flying, I wouldn’t feel like I was dying.’” Awesome awesome. 👏

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.